RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2019, 02:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
How to keep google maps from rerouting

Hello,
I'm new to the forum, been a rv trip wizard user for approximately 2 years now. Last year we made our first long trip to yellowstone. I imported the rv trip wizard info to google maps. One problem I ran into was that sometimes google maps would try to reroute us and not go strictly to the plan route. I'm paranoid about low bridges and such so I don't want to deviate from trip wizard recommendations. Is there a way to turn off rerouting in google maps?
__________________

maximus216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-09-2019, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,727
My eperienceis that once you create a route and then transfer the route to another device or mapping program the route is recofigured. Annoying as all get out. If you are worried about low bridges get a Garmin RV 660 or 770 where there is an option for low bridges.
__________________

__________________
Sue and Tom

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 02:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 396
To prevent the rerouting, add waypoints along your preferred route. Basically, make sure there *is* no alternate route.
steve52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 06:27 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
way points is a good idea. don't want to get a $400 RV Garmin when google is free. I guess i could download the maps for offline and turn off my data and just us gps?
maximus216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 06:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
grindstone01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: FULL TIMERS
Posts: 2,832
I always compare a Truckers Atlas to Google Maps when routing for a trip as a sense check. My third check is using a reg GPS and setting way points if it does not match my planned route.
__________________
2018 Chevy DRW
2008 Carriage Cameo, F34CK3
Full Time since 2012
grindstone01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 09:17 AM   #6
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,606
Yes there is a way. Create your route in TW then download it as a GPX file. Create a map in Google My Maps and download the created TW route into a new layer in My Maps. You will not have driving directions but it will show you your route as you created it in TW and your current location on that route.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 40' American Tradition & '14 Honda CRV
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 07:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
traveldawg's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Grand Design Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 361
I think you'll either have to download your trip to a GPS device or go old school - printed maps and directions.

I've run into the same issue. So I'm going to pull out a (very) old GPS I haven't used in a long time and load a GPX to see how that goes.

I tried that google mymaps thing. It works OK. But you don't get directions and can't load them into anything.
__________________
2018 F350, 2019 Grand Design 310GKR
KE4DMG
traveldawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus216 View Post
I'm paranoid about low bridges and such so I don't want to deviate from trip wizard recommendations. Is there a way to turn off rerouting in google maps?
Someone please correct this if it's wrong, but I don't believe trip wizard's routing takes height/weight into account either, so you have to sanity check any routing it suggests anyway. There's another thread discussing these avoidance issues and the developers indicated the tool does not yet incorporate these concerns in its routing. I believe they stated the tool uses Google Maps for its routing.

The Garmin RV/Trucker GPSs have more "restriction intelligence" built into their routing.
__________________
2017 LTV Unity U24CB
2003 Foretravel U320
1999 Lazy Daze 30IB
spuds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:54 AM   #9
Member
 
RusLwt001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fulltime
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by spuds View Post
Someone please correct this if it's wrong, but I don't believe trip wizard's routing takes height/weight into account either, so you have to sanity check any routing it suggests anyway. There's another thread discussing these avoidance issues and the developers indicated the tool does not yet incorporate these concerns in its routing. I believe they stated the tool uses Google Maps for its routing.

The Garmin RV/Trucker GPSs have more "restriction intelligence" built into their routing.
I have Trip Wizard and it does show low clearances. Once you enter your RV specifics, it routes accordingly and shows you the low clearances near your route.
__________________
Russ
Newmar Baystar 3609
RusLwt001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 07:33 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by RusLwt001 View Post
I have Trip Wizard and it does show low clearances. Once you enter your RV specifics, it routes accordingly and shows you the low clearances near your route.
The developers appear to disagree with the "routes accordingly" comment

Trip Wizard Help

Quote:
At this time, RV Trip Wizard is using Google Maps for routing, therefore, no consideration for height or weight.
__________________

__________________
2017 LTV Unity U24CB
2003 Foretravel U320
1999 Lazy Daze 30IB
spuds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need GPS with height limin rerouting PopBeavers Navigation, Routes & Roads 13 07-08-2018 03:53 PM
Rerouting House Batteries John58 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 11-11-2014 12:49 PM
tablet with Google Maps or dedicated GPS ?? Karlos Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 11-12-2012 07:20 AM
Google Maps C & R Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 13 07-11-2010 10:45 PM
Google Maps...... PNWGirl iRV2.com General Discussion 5 04-05-2010 06:59 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.