RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2018, 07:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Blog Entries: 1
RV trip wizard to Rand McNally

I have spent hours laying out a new trip on trip wizard and believe I have it done correctly as this is my first attempt. Because I have been using the Rand McNally 7735 for year I want to put the new trip into the 7735 GPS so I can drive with it. I keep trying to save it in trip wizard then putting it into the Rand McNally dock but can't seem to pull this off. Most of the day gone and I still can't get the Rand to see the trip.
Please any help will be appreciated.
__________________

oldsaltyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-16-2018, 07:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,704
I put it in by hand because it is not worth my time to do what you just did. Sometimes these automated processes take longer than doing it the old fashioned way.
__________________

__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:10 AM   #3
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,450
Have you used the "Send to GPS" option in Trip Wizard. It's listed after clicking on the wrench icon. There is information there on using the Rand McNally dock. I'm not a RM user so can't help there.
__________________
Tim
Tampa Bay
'07 40' American Tradition & '14 Honda CRV
timjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 02:44 PM   #4
Senior Member




 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 354
Cool

I intend to load a trip into my RM GPS in a few days via the export to GPS function. I will use the Dock software to get the trip onto the SIM card.

I'll report back my experience, as this is the first time I've done this as well
__________________
2012 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Jeep Cherokee
Dr. Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 09:23 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Blog Entries: 1
I tried the send to gps and saved it to my desktop in both file formats but then can not get it into the dock successfully.
I did like someone else suggested and just load it by hand to the RM. This works but makes twice the work.
oldsaltyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 06:22 PM   #6
Senior Member




 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 354
Cool

OK...back with an update.

I could find no way to import RV Trip Wizard into the RD Dock software. I even tried importing the Trip Wizard routing into Good Sams or into TripMaker....no option for that in either one.

As much as I like RV Trip Wizard, it's only good for planning... No help in getting your planned route into the Rand McNally Navigation System
__________________
2012 Entegra Anthem 42RBQ
2016 Jeep Cherokee
Dr. Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 09:17 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Blog Entries: 1
Thats what I am finding also. I plan the trip on trip wizard then manually apply the stops to RM. Im not sure trip wizard is worth all the trouble. I do like the circles for distance traveled though.
Dave
oldsaltyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 03:59 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Beautiful Southern Oregon
Posts: 9
I like entering the trip by hand from the computer (or cellphone) into my GPS (sorry, not a RM, couldn't see them, anyway that's a different story). There Is a couple of reasons or this.
First, GPS's make mistakes. I am sure you have seen or heard of some strange moves by GPS.I always double check maps before I enter anything in GPS. The map may be Trip Wizard or Google maps, or even the old fashion paper ones.
Next, sometimes she wants to go a different way than I do and if I am sure I am going the right way I may add waypoints that makes sure we go where I want, not her.
And if I do it by hand I am even more familiar with the trip incase the GPS (or My Dear Bride) want to go wandering around somewhere else.
Regardless don't forget to have Phun.
ChuckD37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 05:14 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 1
I've been using the RV Trip Wizard and I like it's features very much.

I'm very disappointed that I cannot export the route into my Rand McMally Tablet 80. I used the Send to GPS function for Rand McNally. The only option is the Rand McNally Dock. I tried installing the the RM Dock on my computer. It said I must connect a device. I connected my Tablet 80 to my computer and tried again. Same message, it did not recognize my RM Tablet 80.

This is very disappointing and makes the trip wizard useless if I can't use my route to naviagate.
eewilson818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 05:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,704
Of course you can use your route to navigate. Just do as ChuckD37 says. I totally agree with him. Following a computer route without double checking it can lead you astray with the best of programs. Entering it into your GPS by hand gives you a chance to understand the route, correct mistakes, and modify it to suit your needs.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:17 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckD37 View Post
I like entering the trip by hand from the computer (or cellphone) into my GPS (sorry, not a RM, couldn't see them, anyway that's a different story). There Is a couple of reasons or this.
First, GPS's make mistakes. I am sure you have seen or heard of some strange moves by GPS.I always double check maps before I enter anything in GPS. The map may be Trip Wizard or Google maps, or even the old fashion paper ones.
Next, sometimes she wants to go a different way than I do and if I am sure I am going the right way I may add waypoints that makes sure we go where I want, not her.
And if I do it by hand I am even more familiar with the trip incase the GPS (or My Dear Bride) want to go wandering around somewhere else.
Regardless don't forget to have Phun.
Thanks Chuck
oldsaltyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 06:30 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dale & Mark Bruss's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,613
We still use MS Street & Trips for planning. We do a whole season route. Once we have the route planned, we transfer the route, a leg at a time into ALK CoPilot.

Since we use two tablets for driving, one for each of us, we do the entering of the trip legs on one of our smartphones and transfer the legs routes into the tablets using WiFi transfer. One of the advantages of using Android units.
__________________
Dale & Mark Bruss
12 Years Full-Timing Now with a 2016 Bounder 33C
40' Travel Supreme winter residence
Lots of RV Information at www.dmbruss.com
Dale & Mark Bruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 08:45 PM   #13
Senior Member




 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldsaltyone View Post
I have spent hours laying out a new trip on trip wizard and believe I have it done correctly as this is my first attempt. Because I have been using the Rand McNally 7735 for year I want to put the new trip into the 7735 GPS so I can drive with it. I keep trying to save it in trip wizard then putting it into the Rand McNally dock but can't seem to pull this off. Most of the day gone and I still can't get the Rand to see the trip.
Please any help will be appreciated.
My RM is integrated into an Xite Infotainment system. Do you have a removable SD Card that works with the Docking software. If so, you download the gps file as Download CSV file. Then copy the downloaded file to the SD card.

On the SD card is a folder named RM. Open the RM folder. Open the ImportTrip folder and copy the GPS CSV into this folder. I change the name of the file from gps-download.csv to the nameofthetrip.csv.

When you plug the SD card back into the GPS it will then import the file and remove it from the ImportTrip folder. The trip will be in the MUTISTOP TRIPS under the name you gave the file.

Hope this works for your system. If you are into file editing, you can edit the csv file contents.
__________________
George & Karen with 2 Border Collies (Brite & Mitch)
2015 Winnebago Journey 40R
2015 Ford C-Max
aiken rver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 07:22 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 7
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by timjet View Post
Have you used the "Send to GPS" option in Trip Wizard. It's listed after clicking on the wrench icon. There is information there on using the Rand McNally dock. I'm not a RM user so can't help there.
I tried but couldn't make it work with dock. Thanks
__________________

oldsaltyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trip Wizard to Rand McNally Gordiegaffer Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 11-16-2017 09:19 AM
Trip Wizard with Rand Mcnally RV 7730 j_a_wolfe RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 1 09-06-2017 08:13 PM
Import from one users Trip wizard to my wizard JFreitas RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics 2 07-06-2017 06:22 PM
RV wizard vs rand mcnally trip planner richie o Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 09-15-2016 06:05 PM
Rand McNally RVND7730 + Rand McNally dock Ray,IN Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 12-04-2014 03:15 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.