RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2019, 03:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
Red face TripWiz "navigates" Cape May Ferry by land only. Help

I want to cross from NJ to Delaware in my RV on the Cape May Ferry. I tried dragging the route directly to Lewes, but that didn't work. Do I have to stop the trip at Cape May and start a new one at Lewes Delaware? Or is there a work-around? Thanks
__________________

Gracie350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2019, 03:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Victory Blue's Avatar
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gracie350 View Post
I want to cross from NJ to Delaware in my RV on the Cape May Ferry. I tried dragging the route directly to Lewes, but that didn't work. Do I have to stop the trip at Cape May and start a new one at Lewes Delaware? Or is there a work-around? Thanks
Do you have “avoid ferries” checked Yes under settings?
__________________

__________________
Bill & Lynne
Memphis, TN
2017 Entegra Anthem 44B - Victory Blue
2016 Ford Edge Titanium
Victory Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 07:16 PM   #3
Senior Member




 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,567
I am fairly sure this is a Google problem. I have the same problem going from Dawson City to Chicken, AK. The reason I say it is a Google Maps problem is I can duplicate the problem on Google Maps.


I sent a note to Google Maps but who know if they will ever fix it.
__________________
Sue and Tom

2015 Winnebago Vista 36Y
Sue46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:55 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Victory Blue's Avatar
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue46 View Post
I am fairly sure this is a Google problem. I have the same problem going from Dawson City to Chicken, AK. The reason I say it is a Google Maps problem is I can duplicate the problem on Google Maps.


I sent a note to Google Maps but who know if they will ever fix it.
I can believe Alaska routing might be iffy, but with "Avoid Ferrys" set to no RVTW routes over the ferry the OP asked about. Putting Cape May NJ to Lewes DE in Google Maps also routes over the same ferry.
__________________
Bill & Lynne
Memphis, TN
2017 Entegra Anthem 44B - Victory Blue
2016 Ford Edge Titanium
Victory Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 10:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mike8253's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 229
I can tell you that I have routed via ferries (Vancouver Island to Anacortes ) when doing my planning for our West Coast swing next year. So I know you can do it. As said before, check your settings. Also I found when doing my own planning that you just have to plck the "sweet spot" on the map where the ferry departs from to get to be a part of your routing. Good luck.
__________________
Mike and Cindy
2016 Tiffin Allegro 34 PA
2010 Pontiac G6
Mike8253 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 11:41 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
I had NO selected for AVOID FERRIES. I hoped you were right...but that's not the problem. :(
Gracie350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 11:50 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
You wrote: "but with "Avoid Ferrys" set to no RVTW routes over the ferry." What does "routes over" mean? That it allows the ferry route, connects from shore to shore, rather than making a huge land trip from point to point? As for the "sweet spot," the ferry is listed in RVTW at the docking points. That's what I used.
Gracie350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 12:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Victory Blue's Avatar
 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gracie350 View Post
You wrote: "but with "Avoid Ferrys" set to no RVTW routes over the ferry." What does "routes over" mean? That it allows the ferry route, connects from shore to shore, rather than making a huge land trip from point to point? As for the "sweet spot," the ferry is listed in RVTW at the docking points. That's what I used.
I guess “routes using the ferry” is easier to understand. I did this in a test trip using Cape May, NJ as the starting point and added Lewes, DE as the first stop. I didn’t try campground to campground, but I expect it will work. The map shows Route 9, but it’s the ferry.

Click image for larger version

Name:	BDD5BC03-F62F-4848-A1A3-2B499BDC6390.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	163.2 KB
ID:	239778
__________________
Bill & Lynne
Memphis, TN
2017 Entegra Anthem 44B - Victory Blue
2016 Ford Edge Titanium
Victory Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 12:21 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 22
I tried it again...ferry terminal to ferry terminal. It just won't route it. I tried the "sweet spot" suggestion, because I understand the concept. No go. Yet I see that the ferry "line" on the map is designated Rt. 9.
For about 10 minutes, by dragging between the two ferry points after I had added them to the map, I got the route. But then I could NOT delete the land route it plotted. There were three "waypoints" automatically entered at the NJ ferry. So I figured they were the land route points -- and I deleted them...and lost the direct route between NJ and DE ferry terminals. I don't know what else to do. I 'll reboot my PC and see if that helps. Otherwise, I'll divide the trip into two segments. Santa Fe to Cape May. And Lewes DE to Santa Fe.
__________________

Gracie350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airstream Land Yacht 26 :: 2005 airstream land yacht 26 trispeed iRV2 Owners Registry 0 07-16-2018 05:02 PM
A "Camper" is a "Camper, and a"Trailer" is a "Trailer"! OHVtime iRV2.com General Discussion 31 10-22-2017 07:57 AM
Cape Cod to Cape Hatteras Rburian Navigation, Routes & Roads 0 08-05-2017 07:25 AM
WSDOT Anacortes Ferry vs BC Ferry to Victoria Orangepeel Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 50 05-31-2014 11:57 AM
Hillman Ferry, Land Between the Lakes, KY Oldrtrcr Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 0 05-06-2010 08:12 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.