Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Truck Camper Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-10-2010, 04:13 AM   #1

Preparing for my TC's First Trip. Please Advise...

I just bought a 1989 Jayco Sportster 7 to haul in my Mazda B4000 and am busy preparing it for use. It had several issues and this forum as well as other online resources have helped with their insight.

I added front tie towns to the truck frame as well as a Timbren SES to the back axle. I installed a transmission cooler. I also installed a backup camera and will be adding a 7 pin RV cable to the truck.

Electrical wiring is a major concern. I have an engineering degree and can visualize and implement. I just don't have the RV experience. So I thought I'd lay out my plan and have folks comment if they see major problems or have suggestions. I'll be upgrading the RV socket on the TC to 7 pin from the old 4 pin. The prior owner didn't use it or have the marker lights connected at all and I decided to upgrade because I need more connections. First I added a high brake light on the back and reconnected the markers. For the connections I'm planning on 8 awg wire for the RV battery charging and ground. Then I have 12 awg for the marker lights, high brake light, a dedicated power line for the refrigerator wired to the ignition or an ignition activated relay. This leaves 2 free for possibly adding directionals or backup lights. I don't need either because the truck tail lights are not obstructed but am thinking ahead. For the camper battery connection to the truck alternator/battery I will either use an isolator I got from harbor freight or a solenoid. Not sure yet, whatever is easier to hook up. Really don't want to touch alternator cables.