Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Truck Camper Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-18-2004, 11:17 AM   #1

Hi guys! I'm new to the camper scene with a Lance 820 that we bought about 6 weeks ago. My truck is a 94 GMC Sierra 2500 4X4 with air-lift bags. I just had Rancho 9000 shocks installed two weeks ago.I've only had the camper off the truck 2 or 3 times. This time when I loaded the camper (after having the new Ranchos)the truck was about 2 inches lower on the left side. I called the dealer and he said I probably had the camper on crooked, so I reloaded that thing 3 more times, until I felt I couldn't possibly get it on any straighter. I use a center line marker on the camper and truck and a plum bob, and I have the Happijac system with the guides up next to the cab. I measured and I am 1/2 to 3/4 inch closer on the right, so why does it lean to the left? My questions for you learned folks:
1. Is the spacing that tricky? Does 1/2 inch to one side matter?
2. Could this be connected with the new Rancho's? (It didn't lean before)
3. Should I use the air bags to level the load, even if there might be 30 psi difference? Before they were always at the same psi.
4. Something else I'm missing?
Thanks in advance,
Steve

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!