Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-28-2016, 10:45 AM   #1

CA State Parks & ADA Campsites

Does anyone know about ADA accessible campsites in CA State Parks, specifically if/when there are circumstances when they are made available to those without disabled placards?

First, know that I am a special education teacher and am an ally and proponent of accessibility.

The reason I'm asking this question is that we are visiting a popular and small CA coastal state park later today and I luckily reserved the last non-ADA campsite (it's frickin December, so much less crowded, yay!). There are only about 21 campsites at this campground, and 4 are ADA-specific. All four ADA sites were available when I reserved 2 days ago. That seems like a high ratio of ADA to non-ADA sites and it would surprise me if they were to leave those sites empty (if there were a demand, obvi), rather than collecting a camping fee to help fund CA's desperately underfunded parks system.

Do CA State Parks make ADA sites available to non-placard holders at a particular time or leave at least one ADA site for walk-ups?

I may have an answer from the ranger at this park later today, but thought I'd throw it out there now.

Thx!!
srogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!