Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-27-2016, 03:25 PM   #1

Creation Museum & Ark Encounter Trip from New Orleans

Hello, I am new to rving and making plans for my first long trip. I have owned a 2015 four winds class c for about a year now and am looking to make a road trip to take the wife and two young kids (ages 2&6) to the creation museum and ark encounter for our Mardi Gras Break. I will have a toad for transportation. The main thing that worries me about this trip is that many of the campgrounds look great in pictures but can be downright scary once your there. I don't want to end up in any sketchy campgrounds. I would love any tips or recommendations for this trip. Up to this point we have only done several weekend type trips.

Plans:
Feb 25 - Leave New Orleans drive about 8 hours and stay at Raccoon Mountain in Tennessee. This looks like a nice place with activities for the kids.
Feb 26 - spend day around Campground and maybe Ruby Falls.
Feb 27 - Drive to Kentucky around creation museum/ark encounter. This is where I am having the most difficulty picking a location to stay. Most of the campgrounds have bad reviews or are closed this time of year. Whispering Hills in George town looks like the best bet for a safe clean place to stay. We will be here four four nights.
Feb 28 - visit Creation Museum
Mar 1 - visit Ark Encounter
Mar 2 - Free Day
Mar 3 - Drive Home. This would be a 12-13 hour drive. I may stop somewhere in Birmingham which would be about half way. I don't have to be home until the 5th.

Thanks for taking the time to read and any suggestions would be appreciated.