Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-13-2016, 09:06 AM   #1

First time going west!

So we just bought out first RV - a Class A - and are planning to travel out west from PA - CO - UT - MT- SD etc for the month of June. We plan to start across south and then go across the northern states. We have never done anything like this and we have never been to any of those states so we are complete noobs.

We have 3 kids and one dog and one kiddo is severely handicapped - which is the reason we are traveling via the motorhome in the first place.

We have a basic idea of where we are going but wanted to just kind of go with the flow without too many set plans. My husband is a teacher so he has all summer off.

My question is...we prefer quieter and pretty campsites (I hate campgrounds like look more like a packed trailer park)... and we don't have any reservations anywhere, how difficult will it be to find campgrounds as we go? We don't need a lot of amenities.

Or should we work more on planning and try to make some reservations?

Appreciate any and all advice and thoughts!!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!