Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-14-2016, 06:40 AM   #1

Physically challenged needs trip advice pls

Thanks in advance for your advice ! this is a long description - here goes !
I need to get from Cape Canaveral to Phoenix in a few weeks. I have chronic pain issues and am developing arthritis now (fantastic combination !)
I am a 50 yo bachelor newbie F/T 5ver. How's that for a title! First trip was south from PA to Fla for warmth last fall, but I need out of this humidity. Even though I am hamstrung , I have a good atittude and alot of motivation. It'll be tough but I know I can do it.
Can anyone offer advice to help me with my drive? I've got a diesel dually pulling a 34' Newmar. Just bought a 3800w gen w/elec st. I'd like to rest stop hop where possible. Im not even sure how long this trip will be. I want to go straight there but dont need to hurry either, so overnights are likely too. I think I can wing it that way, but maybe I should do an intinery with reservations? IDK
I was going to take I-10 west straight off the Fla panhandle. My neighbor says no, go across the panhandle on 10 but veer up towards dallas and on up to I-40. Avoids a bunch of mountanous road and a booring vast stretch across TX he says.
Could you offer me any advice?
Chris Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!