Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-19-2016, 09:33 AM   #1

Tucson to Knoxville, desperate for advice

Hi Folks: I am an amateur RV'r and have never made a long trip in our rig. I have 3 trips from Tucson to San Diego under my belt. Now, I am making the plunge, Tucson to Philadelphia and back to visit our family on the East Coast. I am traveling with twin 5-year olds, a 9-year old, and a puppy. Our rig is a Ford Chassis 35' (V10) pulling a Kia Soul 4-down. I am nervous to say the least.

What I need now is recommendations on the route from Tucson, AZ to Knoxville, Tennessee (Pigeon Forge specifically) where I will meet my parents with their rig and stay for a week before heading to PA. I will depart Tucson around June 8th (I hope) and I need to be in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee by June 12th (ideally). I calculate this around 1850 miles, so around 400 miles per day . This seems tight to me as the trip from Tucson to San Diego is about 400 miles and I cannot imagine doing this 5-days in a row, but it is what it is....

Given this scenario, any recommendations on routing would be much appreciated. I am worried as my rig does not have a ton of power and mountain passes are going to be slow. I am also not a seasoned veteran like the folks here, and I am traveling with kids, so any recommendations would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!!!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!