Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Navigation, Routes & Roads
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-31-2014, 03:40 PM   #1

Colorado driving advice

Hello! I'm a newbie here

My husband and I are experienced campers, we have a pop up camper that we've enjoyed for years. We are thinking about upgrading to a class C motorhome at some point, so we've decided to rent one this summer for our road trip in Colorado. Was hoping some of you with Colorado RVing experience could could comment on the feasibility of our plan. Its hard to tell looking at the maps how treacherous some of the roads are, and I know that Google or Garmin do not always give you the best route.

6/14: St. Louis to Denver. Hotel for two nights to sightsee in Denver.

6/16: Pick up RV from El Monte Denver (actually in Louviers). Drive to Colorado Springs, reservation at Garden of the Gods RV park. (53 miles)

6/17: Colorado Springs to Mesa Verde, Morefield Campground, via I 25, 160 (355 miles)

6/18: Mesa Verde to Ridgeway State Park (2 nights) via 160, 550 (or 145?) (127 miles)

6/20: Ridgway SP to Glenwood Springs via 550/50 (161 miles)

6/21: Glenwood Springs to Estes Park via 40, 34 and Trail Ridge Road (169 miles) We want to take all day for this, stopping at overlooks and doing short trails in the park. We're staying in Estes 2 nights so we'll have the next day for the RMNP also.

6/23: Estes Park to Denver to turn in rental (85 miles). One more night in hotel, see Cards play Rockies, drive home next day.

Is this doable / advisable? I'm only concerned about the length of the drive between Colorado Springs and Mesa Verde, and the drivability of the routes that Google Maps has suggested. What do y'all think?