Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Navigation, Routes & Roads
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 01-20-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
First RV Trip

Hello all. DW and I are planning a trip from northern NJ to the southern FL / Key West area. No set dates or schedules, just want to go and start rv'ing! (we are total newbies) Our MH (2007 Dutchmen Dorado 26BE) is new to us and our first. As this is a 'maiden' voyage I would prefer to not venture too far from home (northwest NJ) before being able to set up and check everything out. The problem is that everything up here is dry due to the weather and we don't know how far south we have to go before adding potable water to avoid freezing the pipes. So long as everything works, we'll just keep going, staying a day or two at each stop. We don't have reservations anywhere yet since we are still trying to figure it all out.
We would like to avoid Washington, DC area so plan to go down US 81 stopping in northern VA first, then make our way back to US 95 below DC. I'm DAV so can only handle 4-5 hours of drivetime per day. Any suggestions on CGs in northwest VA and either SC or GA would be appreciated along with any better route guidance.

A democracy is two wolves and a small lamb voting on what to have for dinner. Freedom is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.

Rkc02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!