Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Navigation, Routes & Roads
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-17-2016, 09:50 PM   #1

Roads to avoid when towing a trailer

I'm new to RVing. Just got a Winnebago Minnie 2451BHS and on the drive home from the dealer my GPS routed me through the Merritt Parkway. While on the parkway I noticed a low bridge which had a sign calling out 8'8" max height and I knew the TT is 10'4"

Luckily, there was an exit right before the bridge and I managed to get off the parkway and find my way through side roads to get on the freeway.

How do you plan your routes? How can I know what GPS suggestions to avoid?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2016, 09:57 PM   #2

Good Sam/ Rand McNally has a gps that you put your RV size in the info and that is taken into account when it routes you

Justwinginit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 11:41 PM   #3

Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club