Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 05:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jeff_in_The_Dalles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 544
I can't find anything on my AC that says how many BTU's or how many amps it pulls.

If I shut off the converter and everything but the AC, the AC will run on the generator.

The generator doesn't seem to draw down much when the AC is switched from fan to cool, the overload doesn't trip, and the voltage at the gen is 120v with the AC running...

I know it is working the generator hard, but I don't want to spend the money for a second EU right now.

My question is, will it hurt anything to run the AC on this gen occasionally?
__________________

__________________
Dodge Ram dually laramie 4x4 w/jake, B&W, Brakesmart.
Kit Patio Hauler 394F toyhauler 5th wheel
Camo 680 Rincon, Green 500 Foreman, Blk twincam Roadking
Jeff_in_The_Dalles is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2005, 05:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jeff_in_The_Dalles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 544
I can't find anything on my AC that says how many BTU's or how many amps it pulls.

If I shut off the converter and everything but the AC, the AC will run on the generator.

The generator doesn't seem to draw down much when the AC is switched from fan to cool, the overload doesn't trip, and the voltage at the gen is 120v with the AC running...

I know it is working the generator hard, but I don't want to spend the money for a second EU right now.

My question is, will it hurt anything to run the AC on this gen occasionally?
__________________

__________________
Dodge Ram dually laramie 4x4 w/jake, B&W, Brakesmart.
Kit Patio Hauler 394F toyhauler 5th wheel
Camo 680 Rincon, Green 500 Foreman, Blk twincam Roadking
Jeff_in_The_Dalles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 11:08 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
6MISFITZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 123
Running the trailer's 13,500 BTU A/c on one Honda EU2000 will work (so will a Kipor KGE2000Ti I tired), but it may shorten the life span of the generator.
The way the sales guy explained to me, was the greater the load put on a generator, the closer to maximum the engine has to run and the hotter it gets and the faster it will wear out.

Honda's website says it has a 2 year warranty, and is a forum favorite with many members, so for occasional use - go ahead. I know the throttle econ switch will have to off and check the oil level and condition more frequently.

As for actual amps needed for most 13,5000 BTU rv air conditioners, around 18 - 20 amps to start but around 10 amps running, but was a post from a couple of years ago. Someone else on this forum should be able to narrow it down more.

Mike.
__________________
6MISFITZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 06:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: utah
Posts: 145
If the gen set will do it, go for it. The EU's, if overloaded will shut down, if this doesn't happen, right on!!! Thats why you bought the unit, right?!?!
__________________
'01 F350 PSD 4X4 CC LB SRW, firestone air bags, bilstien shocks, superchips 60hp, 4" cat back exhaust, front end leveling kit, aux trans cooler
'00 315 wanderer, Honda EU2000
gearman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 06:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 240
I had a small A/C, and an EU3000 wouldn't start it reliably, but if it did start, it ran fine. I installed an 'easy start' kit (also called a 'hard start' kit, go figure) in the AC and the generator was always able to start it after that. The kit is a big capacitor and a relay, so the cap charges and helps give it a kick when starting.

Since the EU3000 is bigger than the EU2000, the EU2000 may be even less reliable. If it prooves to be marginal, the easy start kit may help.
__________________
John (40' 2004 Country Coach Inspire DP)
John66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 06:13 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Anywhere We Park It!
Posts: 27
Hi jeff_in_The_Dalles

While in Key West, Fl, we ran our 15,000 BTU AC for about 2 1/2 hours on one EU2000i. The unit was new (only 1 week old) and we were at sea level. 1 year or so later and at about 3200 feet in Idaho, the EU2000i would not run the same 15,000 AC! You are correct in turning everything off except the AC. That is the way we got it to work the first time (I even disconnected the propane detector and smode detector pluse the converter). We also started the fan of the AC unit first, let it get up to speed and then start the AC. Hope this helps you in your decision.
Lee
__________________
2003 Dodge Ram, 1996 Holiday Rambler 34.5' 5th wheel, two recent retirees and one friendly dog, Schaben.
Sandyboris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 02:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jeff_in_The_Dalles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 544
Yeah, I figured it would be a strain on the generator, but don't plan on doing it that often. Maybe I'll run some synthetic oil in the EU...

Mainly, I figured I wasn't risking burning up the AC compressor due to "brown out" as long as I still had 120 volts, but wanted to make sure.

I also didn't figure it would work at higher altitude, but then the mountains here are generally cooler.

In a couple of years I hope to upgrade the 5th wheel and hopefully have a built in gen, so I really didn't want to invest in a second EU2000 if I didn't have to.

Anyhow, thanks everybody, for the input.
__________________

__________________
Dodge Ram dually laramie 4x4 w/jake, B&W, Brakesmart.
Kit Patio Hauler 394F toyhauler 5th wheel
Camo 680 Rincon, Green 500 Foreman, Blk twincam Roadking
Jeff_in_The_Dalles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda EU2000 fuel tank size Threevagabonds 5th Wheel Discussion 25 11-01-2013 09:39 AM
Honda EU2000 Box Question (I know, but this is different) Tom in Salem, MA iRV2.com General Discussion 6 11-09-2007 12:15 PM
Newbie here!....(and, question about EU2000 + AC) BogSpores Toy Haulers Discussion 10 03-23-2007 09:14 PM
Will rain hurt a Honda EU2000 generator in a truck bed Threevagabonds 5th Wheel Discussion 23 10-19-2005 10:05 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.