Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 05:51 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 611
At the electric panel(or pole) the 50 amp circuit starts out like a regular 50 amp/220 volt circuit. Inside the breaker panel in the rv is what is diffrent. If i recal, you can't get 220 at that point, because the legs don't alternate spaces like a regular breaker box.
__________________

__________________
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-26-2006, 06:44 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by charliez:
At the electric panel(or pole) the 50 amp circuit starts out like a regular 50 amp/220 volt circuit. Inside the breaker panel in the rv is what is diffrent. If i recal, you can't get 220 at that point, because the legs don't alternate spaces like a regular breaker box. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wanna bet?
__________________

__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 06:37 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,699
Here's another good link for explaining RV wiring: 50, 30, and 20 amp RV wiring
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 07:19 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
Ray, good site, with lots of information.

He does state that he has heard that there are 50 amp rigs that have both legs, but no way to access them for 240. I've never seen one, and until I do, I don't believe they exist. I've seen setups with every slot filled, and if you only have one slot open, you can't add 2 breakers.

Until proven otherwise, I'm treating those setups like I treat the belief in Big Foot. :-)
__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 04:25 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,699
Bob, I don't think so either. Several years ago the owner of a CG at Pine Mountian,GA and I were talking when he said the CG owners association had got wind of some MH manufacturer's considering using 100A service. He said the CG owners assoc. told the MH mfgrs they refused to modify CG wiring to provide 100A service because it would be very expensive, and result in nightly fees of around $80&gt;. This supposedly would have provided 220VAC service for 220VAC appliances in coaches and bus's.
Now I have a separate question. How does every 120VAC appliance in my 5er get power from 30A and 20A service feeds while the 5er is set for 50A service, without the legs being tied together somehow in the converter box?
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 05:18 AM   #20
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">How does every 120VAC appliance in my 5er get power from 30A and 20A service feeds while the 5er is set for 50A service, without the legs being tied together somehow in the converter box? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I've been following this thread with lots of interest because I've toyed with the thought of converting my rig from 30 amps to 50 amps service. Correct me if I have it wrong, but I thought those legs get tied together inside the dog bone adapter.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 06:20 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
 
Don (W5IT)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greenwell Springs, LA EBR
Posts: 2,255
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Correct me if I have it wrong, but I thought those legs get tied together inside the dog bone adapter. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No RIchard what the 50 amp to 30 amp dogbone does is take ONE leg/blade of the 50 amp service and feed it to the one "Hot" blade on the 30 amp end.

If you ever happen to be playin around with a volt/ohm meter one day you can check it and see it for yourself.

I actually have made my own 50 amp to 30 amp connector I use sometimes. It has two 30 amp female connectors. (One leg for each 30 amp connector) I can feed two 30 amp rigs with the one 50 amp service that way.
__________________
Don Fauntleroy (W5IT) 99 F-350 Cab and Chassis with a Herrin Hauler bed now towing a 2006 3612 DS Raptor Toyhauler. 2002 and 2006 National Rally Wagonmaster.
"Words of Wisdom"
Don (W5IT) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 08:23 AM   #22
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">the 50 amp to 30 amp dogbone does is take ONE leg/blade of the 50 amp service and feed it to the one "Hot" blade on the 30 amp end. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Don,

Maybe I said it wrong; what I was saying was for adapting the other way.

If a rig is a 50 amp rig and a 50 amp female to 30 amp male adapter is used to plug into a 30 amp receptacle, is there a jumper inside that adapter that energizes both legs of the 50 amp circuit? Here's a picture of an adapter that I'm asking about.

Thinking practically, if the dogbone didn't supply 30 amps to each leg, whatever is connected to the leg that didn't get any power wouldn't be usable.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 09:30 AM   #23
Moderator Emeritus
 
Don (W5IT)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greenwell Springs, LA EBR
Posts: 2,255
Yes Richard, you area correct in how a 30 amp to 50 amp dog-bone works....

You were a talkin apples, an I was a readin oranges.
__________________
Don Fauntleroy (W5IT) 99 F-350 Cab and Chassis with a Herrin Hauler bed now towing a 2006 3612 DS Raptor Toyhauler. 2002 and 2006 National Rally Wagonmaster.
"Words of Wisdom"
Don (W5IT) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:19 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
Here's another picture, well, several pictures that kind of show the way it works.

http://www.bobhatch.com/electricStuff/dogBoneAdapter/pa...0AmpReceptical_1.htm
__________________

__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
A question about 30/50 amp service Dmax Newmar Owner's Forum 6 09-27-2007 08:12 AM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 09-20-2007 06:41 PM
I want to change out my 30 amp service for a 50 amp NCTarheel 5th Wheel Discussion 10 07-19-2006 08:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.