Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2012, 12:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
50 foot 30 amp cords

My trailer is 90 feet away from my hook ups. I want to get 2 50 ft 30 amp cords would I lose any amps doing this?
__________________

__________________
zachprowler5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2012, 12:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tncruiser's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: kingston tn.
Posts: 973
you wont lose amps
you will suffer a voltage drop
the only answer a heavier gauge cord
brianj
__________________

__________________
just liven life in east tn or where ever our
2011 georgetown ,2012 explorer and 02 tbird take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Would the volatage drop effect me alot? Say i was running it currently off a normal 10 or 15 amp plug, but then purchased the extension cords to run off the 30 amp. What would i be better off doing.
__________________
zachprowler5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Western New York (summer) someplace warm (winter)
Posts: 370
As long as you're just running small items you should be OK, I don't think I would want to fire up the AC as the voltage drop at that distance would be substantial and you could end up replacing the AC.
__________________
2011 Chevy Silverado 3500HD LT Ext Cab 4x4 Duramax/Allison, 2016 Redwood 39MB, Disc Brakes, Mor/ryde IS, GY 17.5" H tires, 5.5K Onan, Dual ACs, auto level, auto sat dish, stacked washer/dryer, residential fridge, King sleep number. Michelle & Ann
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
I agree and make sure you get 10 gauge wire in your cords.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,334
Here is a program that will help deterime your voltage drop. Depending on what you are planning to operate in your unit...the 10 ga will possible do. You will need to also determine your starting voltage and see where you are after the math.

Considering the cost, might price the cost of 10 or even 8 ga wire by the foot from the 'Big Box' stores and install your own connectors.
__________________
2000 Alpenlite, 29 ft Valhalla - 2014 F350
Workshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
I did some re-measuring and i can get the trailer to where i would only need one 50 ft. Do you guys think there would still be to much voltage drop for the AC and stuff? Thanks.
__________________
zachprowler5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
50 feet would be nice as long as you use 10 gauge not 12
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 09:21 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Alright thanks guys!
__________________
zachprowler5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
10 gauge wire at 90 foot with a 12 amp draw will give you about a 2.25 volt drop if you start with 115. If like around here you are starting around 108 I would be careful.
__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:12 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
Thinking about it... is that at your house? Reason being it the circuit (outlet) is already located a ways from the main feed you have to take that into account.
__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:05 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
asuperheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 171
You will be fine, I would not hestitate to run everything you normaly would. My 5ver came with a 50' cord it always has that much on it as I dont have a shorter one. It is a good idea to check the guage of the cord as stated above but just as important that it and the receptical are in good shape and does not have a burnt leg or bad connection.
__________________
asuperheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:14 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
danf7's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ma
Posts: 403
Another good reason to have a surge guard hard wired on your rig. If the voltage drops too low it will cut the power before it can damage the electronics. I learned that lesson the hard way losing an ac on my two year old TT when I was a seasonal. The campground had a brown-out issue due to hot humid day and everyone using their acs. I wasn't at my camper and by the end of the day my ac was toast.

Dan
__________________
Dan 2008 Allegro 32 BA FRED, Honda Fit
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who know binary, and those who don't.
danf7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 11:17 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Would I loose anything with 100' of 30 amp cord.. Well, if you are running the Air Conditioners (or electric heat) yes, You will,

What you might do is use 50 amp cords with dog bone adapters,, Or make a custom cord (What I'd do) using heavier wire, say six Ga .. To reduce the loss.

Any electrical supply house can supply both cord and plug/outlet.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.