Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2015, 08:48 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMatrix View Post
I know this may sound like a dumb question to you guys BUT....

Say you have a FW that takes 50A, what happens if you get to a site that only offers 30A? Or do all sites offer 30/50?

If I buy one with 50A .. am I gonna be always limited to only certain sites that offer this service?

Lots of posters answered this very well.

50 amp to 30 amp adapter for cg with only 30 amp at the pedestal.

When purchasing a new or used RV - *If* you have a choice - 50amp.
For the stuff you use - as well as resale sometime in the future.

You can always go "down" to 30, but not "up" to 50 - without serious (and expensive) mods to the RV.

.
__________________

__________________
10-9jc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-13-2015, 07:48 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Portert View Post
wa8xym is there a way to monitor the voltage to make sure it stays above? We also just got a 50A fiver and want to make sure we don't blow things up!
There are indeed ways to monitor the voltage..

You can get what we call a surge protector, since it is a 50 amp rig (30 amp folks make the obvious change) the Progressive Industries HW-50C is hard wired into your system and will monitor the voltage (And one or two other things) if it goes too high or low it will shut you off, If there is a power "Flicker" (had several of those here last summer) it shuts you off for like 3 minutes (more on that coming) The PT-50C is a portable unit, you plug it into either the park's 50 amp outlet or your dogbone's 50 amp outlet and plug the rig into it, Same features only more likely to walk off without permission.

Why the 3 minute flicker shut down? Gives air conditioners and other compressers time to relax (Bleed down so they start normally) and thus prevents burn out of the compressor motor.


The other way..(And I might add I use all the these, includign the above) is to use plug in volt meters.

I have a Kill-a-watt set on volts in one outlet This unit has a pss through feature so I do not even loose the use of the outlet.

Another outlet has an MFJ Line Monitor
MFJ Enterprises Inc.

I really like this one, nice soft backlight, and like the Kill-a-watt it has a pass through outlet

And I have an analog plug in meter from Camping world, about the same price as the MFJ but no back light and no pass through.

THe K-A-W is on an inverter powered outlet

The MFJ is one one of the two 50 amp mains legs
The CW meter on the other.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 11:22 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 157
My 5th wheel has an energy management system

The energy management system will not allow me to operate the second A/C and it will shut down the refrigerator and water heater..When on a 30 amp circuit the refrigerator and water heater will operate on LP...
__________________
suiteowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 05:25 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 66
Good question & very good answers. My 1999 5W came with 50amp service, 2 ac. But many times I only used the 30 amp cord for two main reasons. The park might charge more for 50 amp service and 50 amp cords are just plain heavy. Great to have the 50 amps when you really need it, but think you will find there are still some advantages to the 30 amp cord.
__________________

__________________
Ron & Margie

F250 7.3,32' New Horizons FW
Ron1247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 30A and 50A service simultaneously: a terrible idea? markaeric RV Systems & Appliances 42 12-21-2014 02:11 PM
50A Coach to 30A Electrical Service jlabit Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 03-12-2014 08:49 PM
30A or 50A to garage mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 31 11-21-2013 05:14 PM
30A to 50A Adapter Causes MH Fire Pusherman Class A Motorhome Discussions 173 09-02-2013 05:33 PM
Bounder: 30A to 50A converting Sonnydale Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 20 06-11-2013 10:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.