Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 07-18-2013, 06:13 AM   #1
Antifreeze or air pressure

What are the thoughts on winterizing with antifreeze vs blowing out the lines.

I have a '94 tour Master 5th wheel and there is no bypass for the water heater. So I have to lay on my stomach and disconnect the lines which almost always have water in them even after draining. I hollar to the wife to throw me towels to sop it up. Then there is a gallon of water still in the heater tank that didn't drain out and it pours out the bottom connection. Now I hollar to the wife to get me a cup out of the cabinet while I hold my finger over the opening.

I've done this routine twice since I bought this unit. Not fun.....I think using air pressure and blow out the lines would be so much easier.

I have considered getting the plumbing parts to make a bypass, but there's not a lot of room in the water lines to cut and install shutoffs and a new line between the two.

Rolfsted is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!