Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 01:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Alpenliteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fulltimers from Eugene, Or - Now Somewhere on the Road-Currently Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 34
We are planning to be in one site for the next 3 months. We will not be using our batteries. We have the inverter turned off... should we turn the master control to the batteries off also ?
Will this allow the batteries to drain of charge ?
Thank you,
__________________

__________________
2005 Alpenlite Villa Seville

2007 Duramax-Allison Tranny
Alpenliteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-08-2009, 05:32 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 2,551
You do have 12 volt lights right? How about the refer? It also needs 12 VDC to operate. So does the furnace for that matter. Turn the converter back on or you will likely find really soon that you have dead batteries, and no power to a lot of things.
__________________

__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 07:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Eddie Foy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 279
He said he turned off the inverter, not the converter.


Quote:
Originally posted by 450Donn:
You do have 12 volt lights right? How about the refer? It also needs 12 VDC to operate. So does the furnace for that matter. Turn the converter back on or you will likely find really soon that you have dead batteries, and no power to a lot of things.
__________________
2007 Presidio 39D

Mercedes MBE 926
Eddie Foy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 12:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, Fl USA
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally posted by Eddie Foy:
He said he turned off the inverter, not the converter.
Are we positive he meant "inverter" versus "converter?" And, if he meant inverter, are we sure his inverter is NOT an inverter/charger?

Alpenlite - - as stated, you need batteries to live in your unit, therefore they need to be maintained. Keep the battery charger (inverter/converter/whatever) in operation.
Bob
__________________
2003 Dodge HO 6 speed Laramie Dually, Jordan controller, RDS fuel tank, Air Ride 25K hitch
Carriage 36' fiver, Onan 6500, Prosine 2K inverter, 3 slides, MORyde IS and Kingpin
FiverBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
What if it's an older Converter? My TT is 20 years old and on the converter tag it says it provides a 3 amp continuous charge. So from that I would think it sends 3 amps to the batts all the time no matter what the charge state. I would be concerned about over charging if hooked up for that length of time. Or is my converter smarter than I think it is and turn off when the batteries are full?
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 01:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jeff_in_The_Dalles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Posts: 544
In that age range, I'd guess it has no "brain".

It probably won't let the voltage get excessively high, but I'd bet it will continually drive water out of the batteries.
__________________

__________________
Dodge Ram dually laramie 4x4 w/jake, B&W, Brakesmart.
Kit Patio Hauler 394F toyhauler 5th wheel
Camo 680 Rincon, Green 500 Foreman, Blk twincam Roadking
Jeff_in_The_Dalles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
house battery corrosion and weird battery auto fill system ClarkBowen Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 07-09-2008 05:37 PM
Battery Captain Bud Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 4 08-27-2007 08:16 AM
No DC from Battery rvcarpenter Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 11-14-2005 09:03 AM
Which battery is which jmccrack Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 10-05-2005 03:26 AM
No DC from Battery MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.