RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2018, 07:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
anthonynalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 451
How to reset GFCI outlet with no reset button???

We picked up our new Montana High Country 381TH last Wednesday and right now 4 of my 5 GFCI outlets are not working and I can’t figure out how to reset them. ALL the GFCIs were working fine until yesterday when 4/5 of them stopped. The only one that continues to work is in the bathroom. That one also happens to have a reset button right on the outlet. NONE of the other 4 have the reset button.

On a previous RV, a few of the non-bathroom GFCIs were on their own circuit and were reset by a switch in the basement. The only switch I can find is the breaker. Is is NOT tripped and resetting it has no effect. The bathroom remains working (except when I’ve switched off the breaker, of course) and the remaining 4 no longer do anything.

I figure there has to be a switch… but where? Keystone can’t help. Customer service said to contact the dealer. Of course, the dealer said to contact Keystone. Neither actually know. And there’s no owners manual with the specific details of my layout.

This is terribly frustrating as I feel entirely on my own here, merely a week after paying for my unit and leaving the lot. While this is overall a minor matter, the inability to get any support is what’s particularly notable. It is very inconvenient to essentially not have any working outlets in the kitchen. But not knowing when (or even IF) the matter will be resolved is frightening.
__________________

__________________
2017 GMC Sierra Denali HD DRW - 2018 Montana HC 381TH
2019 Hymer Aktiv 2.0 - 2010 Harley Street Glide FLHX
anthonynalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2018, 07:52 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Floyds Knobs, In.
Posts: 5,390
How to reset GFCI outlet with no reset button???

Usually only one GFCI outlet is installed in a circuit and other outlets are daisy chained in and protected by the one outlet.
My guess is you have a GFCI outlet hidden somewhere that is tripped causing the other daisy chained outlets to be dead.
__________________

__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:02 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 14
Correct as described above. Mine is in the bathroom for the kitchen outlets
Rscconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,055
For a working GFCI the answer is to push the button on the working outlet. If the downstream outlets are not working it's a bad GFCI or a broken wire.

If pushing the button on the GFCI does not work the next move is to *temporarily* replace the GFCI with a standard duplex outlet. If everything then works the GFCI is bad so buy an new one and replace the duplex outlet. If that does not fix it then check for power at the next outlet down the line. The input wire their can be bad the same as the output wire can be bad at the GFCI.

Get that far and post again if you are still having a problem.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 09:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
anthonynalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rscconrad View Post
Correct as described above. Mine is in the bathroom for the kitchen outlets
I thought that might be the case. The bathroom outlet DOES work but I did try to press the reset button to no avail. I opened up the bathroom outlet and all wires looked to be in place securely.
__________________
2017 GMC Sierra Denali HD DRW - 2018 Montana HC 381TH
2019 Hymer Aktiv 2.0 - 2010 Harley Street Glide FLHX
anthonynalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 09:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
anthonynalli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brampton, ON
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothermark View Post
If pushing the button on the GFCI does not work the next move is to *temporarily* replace the GFCI with a standard duplex outlet. If everything then works the GFCI is bad so buy an new one and replace the duplex outlet. If that does not fix it then check for power at the next outlet down the line. The input wire their can be bad the same as the output wire can be bad at the GFCI.
So the bathroom is the GFCI outlet with the reset switch. As I mentioned, the bathroom DOES work. Are you saying the bathroom outlet (being the only "GFCI protected outlet" with a reset button) is the one I should remove and install a duplex outlet?

Or replace the downstream outlets?
__________________
2017 GMC Sierra Denali HD DRW - 2018 Montana HC 381TH
2019 Hymer Aktiv 2.0 - 2010 Harley Street Glide FLHX
anthonynalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 10:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
MrWzrd's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hebron, IL
Posts: 127
I'm guessing there is another gfi.
Had a similar issue years ago and foung the miccrowave outlet in the cabinet is where the gfi was that was tripped.
Have you checked for additional gfi's?
__________________
Doug & Kathy
2004 Fleetwood Revolution 40C
KD9PK
MrWzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 10:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 703
Does the bathroom GFCI outlet work when tripped? If it does, it’s wired incorrectly.

If it doesn’t, then you either have a bad GFCI, a bad connection between the GFCI and the next plug in the series or your other four outlets are on a different circuit.

Good luck
__________________
2012 Dodge C3500 DRW 4x4 Long Box, WeatherGuard 90 Gal transfer tank, B&W Companion Hitch
2012 Keystone Montana 3100RL, 520W Solar, 460AH batteries, Morningstar MPPT 45 CC, Bogart 2030RV monitor.
drdarrin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 10:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,390
Check that wire leaving GCFI Outlet (fed wire to next outlet) is HOT (120V)
then go to the 'next' outlet in the circuit (if known) and check IF it has 120V from the GCFI


Wiring on these Cheap RV Outlets are 'pressed' into a 'V' slot to make connections
Any loose wire and every outlet downstream will not work
__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 11:13 PM   #10
Member


 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oakhurst Ca. halw@sti.net
Posts: 62
GFCI

With GFCI working go to the first down stream socket & check Voltage with a meter on black wire that you pulled off the First down stream socket .Turn off power before you pull off wire to down stream socket making sure that black wire is not touching anything then turn on power to check voltage. You may find broken wire when you pull it out of socket .If no voltage you have a break in the line coming from GFCI or a bad GFCI Be aware that GFCI has hot wire & several ground & neutral wires If you are not confident doing that GET HELP Be safe Good Luck Hal
__________________
Hal & Mary 36.5' 2006 Landmark 2017 3500 Ram Crew Cab Long bed 4x4 6.7 Cummings Allison halw@sti.net
Halwiseguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 438
As I recall outlet wiring is continous ,outlets are crimped on 'no screw' connections, the gfci is wired with screws. I like the suggestion that the gfci is wired wrong, power in is reversed with power out terminals. The OP needs the wiring diagram ,he has no clue what outlets are down stream our which one comes first ,second, third,ect. To test the system just pull the gfci and temoprary bypass it and 'wire nut' the conductors ,then check the other outlets, simple test.

CLIFFORD
clifford j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 03:40 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
triplewide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by clifford j View Post
As I recall outlet wiring is continous ,outlets are crimped on 'no screw' connections, the gfci is wired with screws. I like the suggestion that the gfci is wired wrong, power in is reversed with power out terminals. The OP needs the wiring diagram ,he has no clue what outlets are down stream our which one comes first ,second, third,ect. To test the system just pull the gfci and temoprary bypass it and 'wire nut' the conductors ,then check the other outlets, simple test.

CLIFFORD

x2

Mark the wires as you remove them from the GFI outlet. One pair (black and white) are attached to the "line" terminals. "Line" indicates the incoming 120 volts. One pair is attached to the "Load" terminals. "Load" is the receptacles that are down stream from the GFI receptacle. Line and load should be marked on the outlet, usually on the back. You might want to check that the line and load are connected to the correct terminals before doing anything else. Make sure the white and black wires in each pair come from the same cable. Theses can get mixed up easily.

Wire nut, lightly, the blacks together. Then wire nut the whites together. Turn the breaker back on. If all your outlets work then the GFI needs to be replaced.

If they still don't work:

then there is another GFI hidden somewhere that has tripped or,

a connection has come loose in one of the outlets that are not working or a hidden junction. Most likely the receptacle closest to the bath GFI or,

a wire between the GFI and the next receptacle or junction has been cut.
(not likely)
__________________
2015 ACE 29.3
triplewide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 03:54 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Packing up!
Posts: 6,686
My vote is for another GFI with a reset somewhere. I have 2 in the kitchen and 1 in the hall bath.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 04:37 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 145
Check the outlets in your basement storage, they may be GFI, too, and daisy chained to the interior.
__________________

Tdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: 2016 Bounder 33C - GFCI keeps tripping (Internal to RV, not house GFCI) nehmia Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 8 10-22-2016 07:34 AM
Burnt GFCI wiring, outlet feels warm EngineerMike Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 01-25-2013 06:36 PM
GFCI Outlet wiring info BeaBea Excel Owner's Forum 1 01-18-2009 06:12 PM
GFCI outlet in bath? John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 12-22-2005 08:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.