Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2015, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
I did not know what I got into!

Hi everyone! Long time reader first time poster . I have a few questions if that is ok. First of all, I have a 1998 Komfort 23. I bought this trailer 2.5 years ago from a guy who was living in it just months before. Now it seems that he took care of it pretty well, but after I bought it my family's situation changed and ran into hard times. My trailer was parked at a friends house for about 2 years without being touched. I now have at my house and need to give it some TLC. My user manual says that the trailer is on a 30 amp system, but the plug is a standard house plug. So does that mean that it is not a 30? And if I plug it in the lights will come on in the control panel above the fridge but the fridge will not turn on, is this because the power is not sufficient? I haven't tested the propane system yet so I don't want to try it that way until I have it checked. This is my first 5er so please be gentle
__________________

__________________
Kurby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-21-2015, 08:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bumps's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: FTer Class of 2015 Origin: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 1,536
I would expect a TT of that size to be 30amp, so that sounds right. But to have a standard 20amp plug for the pedestal connection does not. I suspect that your assessment is right - without full 30amp service you are not going to be able to run everything in the TT at the same time; start by double-checking all of the breakers. Can you tell if the power cord has been modified? Does it look like original equipment? \ken

PS. Welcome Aboard!
__________________

__________________
Ken & Deb (WIT Club, FMCA, SKP, Harvest Hosts, and grateful volunteers with SOWERs)
2005 Winnebago Vectra 40FD w/400ISL and Allison 3000MH on Freightliner's Evolution chassis, Onan QD7500, 1000w Renogy solar, BlueOx tow gear, and 2015 Cherokee TrailHawk toad.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Bumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RoamingGnome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 115
Is there a 30 amp circuit breaker in the 120vac circuit breaker box? If so then the rig is most likely wired for 30a service. The power cord and/or the plug on the end of it could have been changed. If the power cord has "10 AWG" stamped on it then it too is 30a capable and perhaps only the plug on the end of the power cord has been changed to the 15a variety.
__________________
Dave & Lynne - Retired & livin' the dream. '04 Bounder W32 on Workhorse W20 chassis powered by GM 8.1L gasser.
RoamingGnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 04:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
I will check it out.. Never thought of that! Thank you!
__________________
Kurby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 05:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Ok so yes it looks like the power cord was replaced! You are awesome! Thank you so much for your help!!! Now I need to figure out how to Chang that :(
__________________
Kurby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 08:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Climax,MI
Posts: 87
The fridge should run on 15 or 20 amp current. They aren't like a household fridge so you won't hear it running and they take longer to cool. If the control panel lights are coming on it may be working, leave it on for an hour or more to see if it is getting colder.
Milt
__________________
milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 09:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,904
Prime RV Adapter, 30 Amp Twist-to-Lock Plug and 30 Amp Connector, Black - Walmart.com

Check at a local Walmart or hardware store.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,982
Milt is correct. Plug it back in, leave it run for 1-2 hours and check in the freezer compartment. Should be noticeably cold by then. Having set so long, could have spider webs in the heating chimney--need to take the vent off and clean up the compartment best as you can.
Joe
__________________
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
'17 F450--trying one more Ford
'09 F450--died, replaced with '10--retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingnut60 View Post
Milt is correct. Plug it back in, leave it run for 1-2 hours and check in the freezer compartment. Should be noticeably cold by then. Having set so long, could have spider webs in the heating chimney--need to take the vent off and clean up the compartment best as you can.
Joe
Also note that most propane/electric RV reefers require 12 volts from the trailer battery to operate the control board. That means a functional battery and charger for proper operation.


Your battery is probably shot if it hasn't been charged in 2 years.


Take some time to educate yourself on the 12 volt system charging, testing, and maintenance if you don't already know how it works.
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,904
My RV refrigerators have always taken 12 to 24 hours to get cooled down.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 07:53 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 16
If it won't run when it is on propane it is most probably the 12v system.You need 12v for AC and propane.
__________________
sunnybrook3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 10:05 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
Yeah I found that the batteries were shot a couple of weeks ago and haven't plugged it in. When I bought the trailer I plugged it in and couldn't figure out why nothing would work. But in the past 5 months I have been doing A LOT of research on everything. I will be getting new batteries in the next couple of weeks so we will see what happens after that I will post something when I do .
__________________
Kurby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 10:43 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Central Vermont
Posts: 1,018
Batteries? Check what you have now as you may have opportunities. Are they 6v wired in series for 12v? Dual 12v wired in parallel? If 12v, what size and is there room for larger?
Or is it just one battery with room for a larger. Most come with a Grp 24 12v, barely adequate. Upping that to a Grp 27 or larger gives you more time off grid.
__________________
2015 F350 XLT PSD CCSB SRW, Andersen Ultimate hitch
'12 Cougar High Country 299RKS, Mor/Ryde Pinbox
1/77 Armor Bn, 5th Mech, I Corps
SkiSmuggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 06:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,982
Batteries are kind of like diesel engines--there ain't no substitute for size...More batteries, higher capacity--life will be better.
Joe
__________________

__________________
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
'17 F450--trying one more Ford
'09 F450--died, replaced with '10--retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.