Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 07:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
NCTarheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Western Florida
Posts: 8
is it possible to change an existing 30 amp electrical service for a 50 amp service? and if so has anyone here done it? TIA
__________________

__________________
Silverado 05 2500HD/4X4/SB/crewcab/
duramax 6.6/Allison transmission 30' Forest River Rockwood fifth Wheel
NCTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-16-2006, 07:46 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
NCTarheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Western Florida
Posts: 8
is it possible to change an existing 30 amp electrical service for a 50 amp service? and if so has anyone here done it? TIA
__________________

__________________
Silverado 05 2500HD/4X4/SB/crewcab/
duramax 6.6/Allison transmission 30' Forest River Rockwood fifth Wheel
NCTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 04:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JimmyDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: W. Michigan
Posts: 133
Being an electrician, I would say it is possible and likely to cost a bit to do it. The way I've seen some of the electircal panels packed away under a shelf, I would not want to do it but it is a doable project.
Jim
__________________
God Bless America

SPELL CHECK By IeSpell; Its free and it works.
JimmyDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 07:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by NCTarheel:
is it possible to change an existing 30 amp electrical service for a 50 amp service? and if so has anyone here done it? TIA </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not to a trailer, but to my Winnebago.

See it all here.
http://www.bobhatch.com/electricStuff/30to50amp.htm
__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 06:57 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
NCTarheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Western Florida
Posts: 8
Thank you for the replies and information, food for thought.
__________________
Silverado 05 2500HD/4X4/SB/crewcab/
duramax 6.6/Allison transmission 30' Forest River Rockwood fifth Wheel
NCTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 08:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
Because you most likely don't have a generator, or automatic transfer switch, the conversion for you would be easier.

Replace the shore power cord. Run 6/3 w ground wire to the main breaker box, and redo that. If the main is a 120 volt only, you'll have to buy a new box. You will need new main breakers, 50 amp, double pole, but if you have a pretty firm grasp on electric wiring, it should only take you about a day, and $150 to $200 or so.
__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 02:56 AM   #7
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
I've been thinking about doing this conversion to my rig too, I'll be watching the responses that come here.

My rig is a 5th wheel and I'm not sure if my breaker panel box has a split buss or not, it's in a confined area and is hard to get into. Another issue I need to noodle out is how I'd handle my input from the generator prep package and my inverter.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 11:35 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Gilmer, TX -- USA
Posts: 126
I might be wrong, but isn't the main reason for 50 amp service in most RV's for a 2nd a/c unit? Why not leave all wiring the same and just add a 2nd small panel for the 2nd a/c unit and have a 2nd power cord - 20 amp. Most RV parks have 20 amp outlets along with 30 amp. All factory wiring would remain untouched.

I have 50 amp in the bus conversion (all-electric coach)-- plus two transfer switches to handle shore power, gen set power, inverter power. I'd hate to put all that into the small spaces in a regular RV. Impossible in my Airstream.

Just some thoughts

don
__________________
Don in E Texas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 04:01 PM   #9
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
I only have one 15,000 BTU air conditioner. I want the AC and water heater on one leg and my wife's electric coffee pot, microwave oven, toaster oven, and hair dryer on the other leg.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 04:27 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 70
I have also given this some thought. My plan would be to install a new small panel and feed the existing panel with 1 leg. Move the water heater to the other and add 2 outlets, for hair dryer and/or electric heaters. This would only cost me the water heater if only 1 leg was available, which is what gets turned off now.
__________________
jaycocamprs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 08:58 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 611
Don't change the 30 for a 50. Add a 50 and run the 30 as a sub panel. Simple.
__________________

__________________
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 09-20-2007 06:41 PM
Vector 2-10-30 Amp, 80 Amp Start Battery Charger Logthumper Gear and Product Discussions 2 03-23-2007 04:24 AM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 11:28 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.