Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-12-2013, 05:14 PM   #1

Newbie looking for some insight ...

Well helloooo there all you travel junkies ...

I just joined this forum and I am just warning all of you in advance - I am new to the whole "forums" thing and also new to RVing and towing, but I would like nothing more than to get out there and enjoy this country like the rest of you have already. I'm jealous, but will travel someday.

Now, with that being said ... I have a couple of questions on "buying" a 5th wheel.

1) When you buy a 5th wheel, or any trailer for that matter ... does the dealer explain all that you need to know about operating it & maintaining it before you drive off - or do they assume you know it already?
2) is a 5th wheel safer than a ball hitched trailer?
3) When buying, do you think of trailer first [for total weight to be towed] or truck first [to know what trailer weight you CAN tow?

I am thinking about - no cash yet, so I'm bummed for sure - about buying a toy hauler for weekend and part time vacations. Would like a 14' garage though. I really like the Fuzion by keystone.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!