Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-04-2018, 07:27 PM   #1

Please help, converter install gone bad!

All, I am new to owning a camper, I just purchased a 2014 Keystone Cougar 335RBK. I have noticed that when I pick the camper up from storage that the battery would go dead when using the landing gear. So, just before we went camping yesterday I swapped out the battery. I made sure that the camper was not plugged in to shore power and swapped batteries out. I got a good spark when connecting the negative lead to the battery but didn't think much about it. Long story short I smoked my converter. Today I drove all over to find a replacement. Found one, turned all the breakers off, made sure the camper was not plugged to shore power and hooked it up. I ended up smoking the BRAND NEW CONVERTER as well. Someone please tell me what I am doing wrong. The only thing I can think of is:

I should have turned the battery disconnect to off before hooking up the battery

I should have hooked up the negative lead first then the positive

Maybe the converter needs shore power before DC current is attached.

I did not hook up the battery in reverse. I did not hook up the converter backwards either.

Please help, I am getting a third converter tomorrow. If I smoke this one I am going to roll my camper into the lake!!!
tinpusher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!