Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-29-2011, 10:53 PM   #1

Power Questions

I am always looking for ways to economize and I noticed that there are solar panels made for 5th wheel use. I am new to 5th wheels in general so I am trying to build my knowledge to make informed decisions.

Is a 5th wheel solar system robust enough to handle all the power needs to be off the grid? I know this a bit ambiguous since I haven't given the output of the panel/panels but that is where I am hoping for some fill in the blanks on what is needed from those of you with experience.

I understand that the panels are used to charge the batteries in the unit. How long will the batteries last typically without charging? Is it worth the money to buy the extra batteries to fill the slots provided if you only have 2 for example but have room for 4?

I plan to be in a park most of the time but it would be nice to be able to generate my own power when needed. I will be getting a 32'-36' unit used and having an alternate source of power would be nice. Would a generator be a better investment of money? Let me know what you think, thanks.
Scybertek is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!