Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2014, 10:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
CCFROMFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 167
Propane Tanks ?

I have the usual 40 gal x 2 for propaadne, one on each side. They are supposed to hold about 7 gallons of propane one will show empty but when refilling tank will only take a little over 4 gallons. Thus there is about 3 gallons left ..... but tank will not empty ? ? ?

Any suggestions ?
__________________

__________________
Chris and Carole Christian / ccfromfl@gmail.com
2011 Tiffin Phaeton / 2012 Ford Fiesta "Tow'd"
"Our Cause Was Just"
CCFROMFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2014, 01:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Is the problem limited to the tank on one side of your 5er.
Or are both tanks doing the same thing.?

I've had friends with the side to side tank system, have problems with getting any flow from the left side. There is an odd dual regulator system.

If the problem is with the left side tank , swap it to the right side ; when it shows empty; and see if you can still use it.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 03:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
go4dsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 229
Don't trust the gauge anyway. Keep one tank turned off and run the other tank til empty and then switch.
__________________
go4dsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
First, we don't know what system you have. Most likely, you have a standard auto change over regulator. It is designed to leave both DOT cylinders on, one cylinder empties, and then auto changes to use LP out of the other cylinder. If you're having to turn one off then swap, there's an issue.

Next, where are you getting these numbers? And since when are 40# cylinders (AKA 10gal cylinders) usual. Common size, especially on a Keystone, is 30#/7.5gal cylinders.

Now, since you reference weight at first, you know that you don't use gallons to fill or measure them. You use weight. So, when it is empty (not sure how you know it's empty, you didn't say), weight it. If it is truly empty(ish), it should weigh whatever is stamped on the collar of the cylinder. There is a "TW" marking, which is tare weight; empty weight of the cylinder with just the valve installed and no LP in it. If it is close to that, it's empty. If it's off, let us know what it weighed and the TW of the cylinder, and we can figure how much is left.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 09:17 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
go4dsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Castle Rock
Posts: 229
He said it was only taking 4 gallons to fill it. You can tell when the tank is still half full by simply lifting it. Personally I like to know when a tank is empty, that is why I closed one tank and run until the first one is empty and then switch. Others on this forum are perfectly happy to just let both tanks run dry.
__________________
go4dsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 11:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,212
You could get a "fuel gauge" type tank. Worth the pain for me. Camping world has them. Cannot remember how much as it was along time i have had them.
__________________
1991 1500 Chevy Pickup
1994 5th wheel 30 foot trailer
I'm lost. I've gone to look for me. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait.
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 01:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,033
We leave ours on auto. I think our 30 lb tanks take 7 gallons of propane. If we are using propane for heat, the generator, etc., we just check it periodically. How difficult is that? Nothing like waking up at 3:00 am and it is freezing inside because the propane has run out and you have the other tank shut off and you have to get dressed and go open the other tank.
__________________
jpharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 09:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rfhtlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 196
we had a 2004 excel that had one tank on each side. had some problems when switching tanks occasionally and was told we needed a regulator on each side. excel has since put regulators on each side to solve the problem. does your unit have a regulator on each side?
__________________
rfhtlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 01:46 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfhtlh View Post
we had a 2004 excel that had one tank on each side. had some problems when switching tanks occasionally and was told we needed a regulator on each side. excel has since put regulators on each side to solve the problem. does your unit have a regulator on each side?
What kind of regulators? A lot of manufacturers use a step down regulator (from 350PSI max at the cylinder to about 30PSI) then that goes into the auto change over.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 01:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
No replies from the original poster in three weeks .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 07:24 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
rfhtlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 196
our new excel has the standard 30 psig on each side
__________________
rfhtlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 09:53 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
glennwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,084
Our Teton has a light in info center that lights up when it switches over.
__________________
2003 Teton Grand Freedom. 2006 Freightliner Century 120 with Detroit 14L and Ultrashift.. Full time going from job to job. Building and maintaining plants across the USA. Sold 2006 Mobile Suites 32TK3
glennwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 02:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
On most RV's with mounted tanks there are two Indicators.

One is your monitor panel.. DO NOT BELIEVE IT

The other is on the tank itself.. usually, unlike so many other fuel gauges, these are fairly good.. Key word: USUALLY, means "not only".
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 03:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
glennwest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
On most RV's with mounted tanks there are two Indicators.

One is your monitor panel.. DO NOT BELIEVE IT

The other is on the tank itself.. usually, unlike so many other fuel gauges, these are fairly good.. Key word: USUALLY, means "not only".
Sorry you consider me a liar. I do not lie. Against my morals. All the Teton units, to best of my knowledge, had this feature. It is simply two wires coming from top of regulator change over running inside to a panel. Two lights, when empty it comes on. Real neat feature and simple system.
__________________

__________________
2003 Teton Grand Freedom. 2006 Freightliner Century 120 with Detroit 14L and Ultrashift.. Full time going from job to job. Building and maintaining plants across the USA. Sold 2006 Mobile Suites 32TK3
glennwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
propane, tank



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Propane to inside of coach? lbaldwin Monaco Owner's Forum 7 04-23-2014 11:14 PM
Hydronic heat: Propane vs Diesel in winter temps? TinMan Trvlr RV Systems & Appliances 10 03-31-2014 03:32 PM
20 lb "exchange" propane tanks mel s MH-General Discussions & Problems 32 03-31-2014 08:50 AM
Can not get propane to MH from Tank guaranteed Class A Motorhome Discussions 28 01-18-2014 10:11 AM
Propane Tanks ? ggenewells77 iRV2.com General Discussion 8 12-12-2013 05:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.