Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2010, 12:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Question Receptacles on one side of 5th wheel not working??

We own a 1997 Jayco Eagle. Last night, I unplugged the cord from the kitchen receptacle which was running our electric heater, and plugged in the extension cord so I could get the heater closer to me on the couch. I then discovered that the electric receptacle had suddenly stopped working.

And, the bathroom receptacle stopped working too, which is on the same side of the 5th wheel as the Kitchen receptacle.

None of the breakers in the breaker box kicked down. Even turned them all off and on and nothing happened.

The kitchen receptacle has a T for Test and an R for Reset. Pushing the Reset button does nothing at all, not even push out the Test button. The bathroom receptacle has nothing on it to push.

I have no idea what happened or what to do next. Should I change the kitchen receptacle since the buttons aren't working??
__________________

__________________
doodlebug52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-28-2010, 02:29 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
I would bet that a wire came loose when you pulled the plug out.. or the GFCI (has the buttons) did..
__________________

__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:28 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Push the Test button on the GFCI outlet - it should click and go to the depressed position. If it doesn't, it has already tripped and would kill power to itself and to all the other outlets downstream from it that it's protecting - typically, kitchen and bath outlets near water as well as outdoor outlets (although there may be more GFCI outlets protecting some of these points as well).

After pushing the Test button, push the Reset button. This ought to move the Test button back out to its active position and restore the outlets' function. If it doesn't, either a ground fault still exists somewhere in the circuit, a wire has come loose from an outlet or the GFCI is defective and must be replaced.

If the GFCI is functioning properly, recheck the breakers.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 09:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Bern,NC
Posts: 2,032
I would look at where you were plugged in before. You may can plug a light in where it not working and plug in where you got power and see if the light flickers or will come on. More likely a loose connection.
__________________
diandtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyJC View Post
Push the Test button on the GFCI outlet - it should click and go to the depressed position. If it doesn't, it has already tripped and would kill power to itself and to all the other outlets downstream from it that it's protecting - typically, kitchen and bath outlets near water as well as outdoor outlets (although there may be more GFCI outlets protecting some of these points as well).

After pushing the Test button, push the Reset button. This ought to move the Test button back out to its active position and restore the outlets' function. If it doesn't, either a ground fault still exists somewhere in the circuit, a wire has come loose from an outlet or the GFCI is defective and must be replaced.

If the GFCI is functioning properly, recheck the breakers.

Rusty
Hi. I pushed the Test button in, and the Reset clicks out. But when I push the Reset button, the Test button does NOT click out. What's that about?? And how to do you find a grounded wire?? Or, how do you figure out if the the GFCI is bad??
__________________
doodlebug52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:42 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midniteoyl View Post
I would bet that a wire came loose when you pulled the plug out.. or the GFCI (has the buttons) did..
Hi. I have the GFCI pulled out slightly and just touched one of the 5 wires with a screw driver, and got shocked. That implies there is something wrong with the GFCI. Anybody agree?? And the Test button just doesn't pop out.

The really weird thing is that this happened by just pulling the electric cord out, which has happened many times before. I then put in the extension cord...and nothing.
__________________
doodlebug52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 09:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 689
That implies that you did not disconnect the live power to the GFI be fore working on it. A big NO NO tho the GFI may be defective.
__________________
RVhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:21 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Hi. I have the GFCI pulled out slightly and just touched one of the 5 wires with a screw driver, and got shocked. That implies there is something wrong with the GFCI. Anybody agree??
Depends on which wire you touched..
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 09:45 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Half Dimes's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nature Coast FL
Posts: 1,679
GFCI outlets are no longer very expensive. Go ahead and replace it. If there's still a problem, at least you've eliminated the GFCI as a culprit and you have a spare for when one does fail.

And, please: turn off the circuit breaker before you fool around. If there's any question which breaker controls the circuit in question, disconnect the rig from shore power altogether!
__________________
Dave & Jo Ann
'08 HitchHiker Champagne 35LKRSB | '11 F350 Lariat 6.7PSD
Half Dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:04 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,605
If you have an inverter, check the breakers on it. Usually there are two breakers one for each feed in the coach. Here is a picture of mine so you can get the idea.
Dick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF2275.JPG
Views:	111
Size:	119.1 KB
ID:	6901  
__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 10:17 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Bern,NC
Posts: 2,032
Like Dave said, when In doubt just pull the shore power and replace it. If it like our fiver no inverter and only two breakers for the AC.
__________________
diandtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Thumbs down Update: continued problems

I bought a new GFCI receptacle. And as soon as I hook it up, the power kicks it out. The Reset button pops out.

Now what? How do I find the short?
__________________
doodlebug52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Half Dimes's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nature Coast FL
Posts: 1,679
Wish the GFCI had been the problem. I can't give you specifics to go further 'cause I'm not smart enough, but here's a link to get you started. Hopefully, you'll find something in one of the other outlets and that there's not a problem in a wall somewhere.
__________________
Dave & Jo Ann
'08 HitchHiker Champagne 35LKRSB | '11 F350 Lariat 6.7PSD
Half Dimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 08:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Half Dimes View Post
Wish the GFCI had been the problem. I can't give you specifics to go further 'cause I'm not smart enough, but here's a link to get you started. Hopefully, you'll find something in one of the other outlets and that there's not a problem in a wall somewhere.
Just read it. Unfortunately, it simply confirms I have a short but I can't figure out why or where. This all started when I plugged in an extension cord to the electric heater. Groan.
__________________

__________________
doodlebug52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, electricity, extension cord, receptacles



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My '97 Jayco Eagle 5th wheel...SMELLS. How to get rid of it?? doodlebug52 5th Wheel Discussion 18 07-26-2010 08:30 PM
5th wheel for 9' Flatbed on 1 ton RamblinMan Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 5 07-18-2009 05:01 PM
Pulling 5th Wheel and/or TH with lifted truck? Ryan Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 13 12-14-2008 05:33 AM
I need Ammo. I am Thinking About Selling the MH and Buying a 5th Wheel LeeB 5th Wheel Discussion 31 01-21-2008 05:51 AM
Recommendation for a Truck and 5th wheel LeeB Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 8 01-09-2008 07:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.