Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2012, 10:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sioux falls sd
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to adehaan86
roof vent prewired for 120 volt?

I have a pre wired roof vent that is for 120 volt and I think 5 amps so its way too line for a full roof AC. I also only have 30 amp service. I would like to put a fan tastic fan there but only can find 12 volt fans.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
2009 Dodge ram 2500 Cummins Mega Cab
1999 R29RL King of the road.
3 kids and a beautiful wife.
adehaan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-05-2012, 06:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
They usually put the 12V lines there for A/C do you have a selector switch for front and rear A/C. Just use the 12V fan there should be a light right there buy the vent catch 12V power there.
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
typo "They usually put the 120 Volt lines there for A/C"
__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 10:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
If you can't find a 12v source in that area, just go to Radio Shack and pick up a small 120v to 12v converter, like a wall-wart. Just get one rated at the amps (or above) the fan you select will require.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sioux falls sd
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to adehaan86
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightriderrv View Post
They usually put the 12V lines there for A/C do you have a selector switch for front and rear A/C. Just use the 12V fan there should be a light right there buy the vent catch 12V power there.

Where would this selector be located?
__________________
adehaan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
Just get your fantastic fan make sure the 120V wires are capped and taped good run a 12V wire to the light there one close and install the 12V fantastic fan and your done.
__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by adehaan86

Where would this selector be located?
A coach that was completely wired for a second AC, that 120v line will be 15amp, not 5amp as you suggested/thought. There is really no such thing as a 5amp circuit out of a 120v distribution box.

If completely wired, the 2nd AC will be controlled by the existing thermostat, either by changing Zones (front Zone 1, rear Zone 2) or perhaps a second switch for the optional or second AC. It is possible they only put in a single AC thermostat since the AC wasn't installed at the factory. However, ACs must use 12v to control them, so you should have a 12v line in the same area.

One more caveat, if this is a Duo Therm system, you may see what looks like a phone line there. If so, although in one of those 4 wires is 12v, it will not take a fan running from it as it has a max of 3amps. You also have no control at the thermostat.

You would then be forced to use a small converter or run a new 12v line to the fan.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sioux falls sd
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to adehaan86
After looking there is 16 amps Max that this second a/c can use. It is also on the same breaker as the microwave. Another thing also there is a flat plate with this information on it. I never seen under plate yet.

It looks like the image I attached and has this info on the label.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2009 Dodge ram 2500 Cummins Mega Cab
1999 R29RL King of the road.
3 kids and a beautiful wife.
adehaan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:46 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Looks like a simple duplex cover plate. This would be used to cover the 120v wires not being used. It may also house the 12v wires. Your next step is to open and put a volt meter to all wires.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sioux falls sd
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to adehaan86
Do you know if this connects into the main thermostat? Or if this box is where the second thermostat goes?
__________________
2009 Dodge ram 2500 Cummins Mega Cab
1999 R29RL King of the road.
3 kids and a beautiful wife.
adehaan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:39 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by adehaan86 View Post
Do you know if this connects into the main thermostat? Or if this box is where the second thermostat goes?
A picture of your present thermostat would be very helpful. Generally speaking, your thermostat uses 12v that goes to the AC unit's 12v electronic control board. When it gives the proper signal to the control board, it puts 120v to the AC unit and makes it cool. Once temp drops enough at the tstat, it sends a new signal to shut the AC down. There is NO 120v connection between the tstat and the AC unit(s). The 120v present on the ceiling is just to power the AC unit. There would be no tstat in that box.

I could go on and on here explaining the various AC systems out there. But it would be less confusing if I knew the system your coach uses. A year, kind, make and model of your rig would help along with a good close up picture of your tstat.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 08:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: sioux falls sd
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to adehaan86
Here are some pictures.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205602.png
Views:	86
Size:	775.4 KB
ID:	25760   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205612.png
Views:	79
Size:	753.5 KB
ID:	25761  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205621.png
Views:	72
Size:	691.4 KB
ID:	25762   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205632.png
Views:	97
Size:	725.4 KB
ID:	25763  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205644.png
Views:	74
Size:	512.4 KB
ID:	25764   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120906_205654.png
Views:	70
Size:	429.1 KB
ID:	25765  

__________________
2009 Dodge ram 2500 Cummins Mega Cab
1999 R29RL King of the road.
3 kids and a beautiful wife.
adehaan86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:01 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by adehaan86 View Post
Here are some pictures.
Thanks for the pics. Here's what I can tell you. The thermostat (and related system) is a standard household AC system. The thermostat is a single control (1 furnace and 1 AC). The wires in the ceiling that I can see are orange (fan) yellow (AC control) and red (low voltage power). I do not see a blue (hi speed fan) or green (ground), but I assume they are not visible in the pic. From what I see here, you have the control wires for the 2nd AC unit. What I'm not seeing is 120v wires to power the AC unit. Of course it's not unusual in an RV to have one color wire turn into another color at the destination. Unless you have a schematic of your coach, you just have to test wires with a volt meter. It's certainly possible if you have a microwave, they didn't add the 120v line to the optional AC area. This is because in a 30a coach, you can't run both at the same time.

If you did get this straightened out, you would need a second thermostat or you would need a dual AC thermostat from Duo Therm (Dometic). I don't know if the 2nd AC control wires are sitting in the wall behind the existing thermostat or elsewhere.

I think the bottom line here if you want a second AC, your going to need a very handy friend or a pro.

Getting to your original plan of a 12v fan there, you need to check the voltage at that red wire in the ceiling, using the green wire or the elec box as the ground. Hopefully you'll find 12v. What has me concerned however is on the thermostat at the low voltage wire, it says "7+". Which is telling me the control power may not be 12v. Hopefully it just means it will operate on anything over 7 or more volts. Another problem may be those extra wires are not wired to anything. So if you are getting nothing, remove the thermostat to see if those extra wires are behind it. If so, just wire the green and red wire to respective posts on the back of the thermostat. You should then have power, but unfortunately you may only have power when the thermostat is ON.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:19 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
If the second air unit is for the front bedroom then a non ducted ceiling package can be used all you need is 120V line which you have no need to run a t-stat line it's not there anyway and you still can run the 12V vent fan if you don't want to add the A/C there is a 12 volt light next to the vent hole that has power all the time you can tap 12V off that line to run fan it will work plain and simple to do I've done many install of those fans in the front bedroom
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.