Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2011, 08:05 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Satellite tv

The external jack on my fifth wheel works when I hook park cable service but I tried to hook direct tv through it and it did not work. Does anybody know why.
__________________

__________________
browns111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-23-2011, 08:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 750
Are you saying you are trying to hook a DirecTV receiver to park cable service?? If so, it definitely will not work. DirecTV is satellite service and the park system is probably cable service such as Charter.
__________________

__________________
NITEHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,945
If you are using a portable dish to hook into the outside connection.
The inside connection cable will be needed to be unhooked from a switch box inside and rehooked to the DirecTV Receiver.

Otherwise that cable can be getting some feed back from the Batwing amplifier 12V.
__________________
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 01:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 70
Don't know how new your rig is, but we had the same problem with class "c" built in 1997. The tv cable installed would work with a cable hook up, but was not compatable with sat. tv. Had to run a new wire.
__________________
2010 34' Montana 5 wheel, pulled by 2009 dodge 3500 diesel, 4x4.(gone), 2016 Ford F-350, SRW, 4X4, 6.7 Diesel.
montara24d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Now I do admit I have seen ONE, exactly ONE RV which had an external jack, from the factory for Sat TV,, Just one. I was shocked.

The park-cable inlet is hooked to an antenna switch somewhere in your rig, This switch is either a box with many buttons or a wall plate with one button, a light, and usually an antenna connection and a 12 volt outlet.

You Can re-task it for Sat tv but I do not recommend doing so.. The reason is two fold

1: you might want to use it as designed, and 2: It is usually RG-59, 59 is not nearly as good as RG-6 which is specified for Sat use.

I suggest running a dedicated cable (RG-6) to a basement or bulkhead connection and labeling that for SAT TV..

The one RV I mentioned above.... That is EXACTLY what the manufacturer did.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 08:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,982
wa8xym,
Maybe I misunderstood what you said about satellite TV jack? Most every trailer I have looked at since 2002 has had a cable and a satellite connection built in.
Joe
__________________
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
'17 F450--trying one more Ford
'09 F450--died, replaced with '10--retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 689
As Triker56 said-I have been using my external connector for years on my 97 Kountryaire for both and satellite hook up. Just have to select correct mode on switch box. Suggest you give it a little thought and then try it out before rewiring.
__________________
RVhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 04:27 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
I have 2 jacks; one for cable and the other for satellite. The coax from the cable jack goes directly into the Wingard switch. The coax from the satellite jack leads into the entertainment center and is just labeled SATELLITE. This plugs into my receiver. Your satellite connection will not work thru the Wingard switch (if it is between the dish and the receiver) as it does not pass thru the voltage that the receiver sends to the dish LNBF.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 04:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Now I do admit I have seen ONE, exactly ONE RV which had an external jack, from the factory for Sat TV,, Just one. I was shocked.
My 05 Fleetwood and now my 08 Winne both have jacks for Cable and Satellite in the electrical utility bay.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 05:14 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 85
My 11Mini Lite has both satt and catv external jacks. I know (from experience) if u accidently plug the dtv dish into the external catv instead of the satt line it will not work. Never used catv in a cg, only dtv and it is portable, not a Wingard.
__________________
toadswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:25 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 132
My fleetwood has external jack, I have used CG cable when I first bought RV, same jack used for Dish Network stand alone dish.
__________________
Its Paid For is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 01:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
I installed an A/B switch on the cable running from the rear connector to the Winegard switch box.

The A cable was connected to the switch box. B Cable was connected to another A/B switch.

The second switch A cable was the coax running from the roof top sat antenna.

The B cable was the cable from the first A/B switch.

The output cable connected to the Sat Receiver/DVR Sat In connector.

To watch Sat TV with a rear dish, I then had to switch both A/B switches to B and everything works (at least for the past nine years. )

This probably only works with a single LNB connection.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 12:53 AM   #13
Member
 
JerryHooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
I just got Dish and the Tailgater. When I bypass the RV satellite connection and hook the Tailgater directly into the back of the receiver, it works just fine. When I hook up the antenna to the outside satellite connection and run coax from the back of the receiver to the entertainment center connection there is no satellite service. Can anyone make any suggestions as to what I should do to remedy this problem?
__________________
Jerry & Lisa Hooper
2012 Ford F350 SD King Ranch CC 4X4
2015 Dutchman Voltage 3970 toyhauler
JerryHooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 07:32 AM   #14
Member
 
Rcnewell11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 56
Check on jumper wires in your cabinet at tv or satellite junction box and hook up with straight feed from back of unit to your reciever or look at your Manuel u have for your unit to see how the jumper wires need to be switched to work.
__________________

__________________
Rcnewell11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Pace Introduces Pay-As-You-Go Satellite TV For RV's & Launches with Winnebago DriVer RV Industry Press 6 09-02-2010 05:08 PM
Satellite Snowy Picture Problem Mr_Bill Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 04-21-2008 04:26 AM
HD TV reception via satellite service Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 02-08-2008 06:04 AM
Frustrated Puting Up Tri-Pod Satellite Receiver and Solution Gordon MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 07-28-2005 11:13 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.