Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2005, 06:40 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 56
Does anyone have an aftermark satelite system hooked up two tv in their RV? We want to add satilite to teh bedroom tv but we do not want the cables are through the house. and being our rig is 6 months old i really don't want a hole in the floor.

I was just told by my dealer it can be $$ to add to that tv is this true?
__________________

__________________
Daniel and Jennifer

San Antonio, Texas
DanJenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2005, 06:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 56
Does anyone have an aftermark satelite system hooked up two tv in their RV? We want to add satilite to teh bedroom tv but we do not want the cables are through the house. and being our rig is 6 months old i really don't want a hole in the floor.

I was just told by my dealer it can be $$ to add to that tv is this true?
__________________

__________________
Daniel and Jennifer

San Antonio, Texas
DanJenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 10:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Pat Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fort Washington, PA 19034, USA
Posts: 217
Send a message via ICQ to Pat Z Send a message via AIM to Pat Z Send a message via Yahoo to Pat Z
If you want to watch the same channel just take the output from the receiver to the AUX input on the selector, then set the 2nd TV to AUX. If you want to watch different programs you would need a Dual LNB dish, (two connections) then either 2 recievers or a TIVO unit that has 2 outputs.
I hope I understood your question and was of some help.
__________________
05 Excursion 39J-07 Avalanche-Max & Ruby Lahsa Alpsas http://banners.wunderground.com/weat...Washington.gif
Pat Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 10:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
WA4SLC's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, NC, USA
Posts: 232
Radio Shack has a wireless video/audio sender and it is a remote extender also. Here is a link to see what it looks like.
http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D2572
I have not used it, but it might be a solution for your problem.
__________________
Bill & Camillla
Thor Four Winds 31L Class C and Jeep Liberty
WA4SLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 07:10 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Radio Shak also has a device that allows you to control your Infrared sinal sat receiver remotely a device that captures the IR from the remote, transmitts it on RF (radio frequency) and retransmitts an IR in the room with the sat receiver.

Then connect your at output to an input on your rigs video selector box so that you can send the output to either the front or rear TV. Of course you have to watch te same channel.

KEN
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 07:14 AM   #6
North Central Texas Area Leader
 
allendp's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Killeen, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,633
I use a portable dish with a dual LNB and a second receiver in the bedroom. I drilled a hole in the side of the rig and mounted a second ftype cable receptacle making sure to silicon seal around the hole after inserting the cable and around the receptacle plate before mounting it to the rig. My rig is gelcoat fiberglass exterior so it was easy to do. Then ran a cable inside to the bedroom receiver from the recptacle. I run 2 cables from the dish to the 2 receptacles on the rig. The factory instally one for the main entertainment center and the one I installed for the bedroom.
__________________
Don & Pat Allen - Texas Boomers - Honorary Oklahoma Boomers
2017 Keystone Sprinter 269FWRLS - 2003 Dodge Ram 3500
allendp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 08:31 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 56
thanks everyone. We have a triple LBN so that isn't the problem the problem was the wiring for the second room. I will check out radio shake..but i think Don & pats responce sounds like the route we may go.....but i think i will pay the dealer to do it!LOL
__________________

__________________
Daniel and Jennifer

San Antonio, Texas
DanJenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where does the second satelite cable go??? RickO Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 11-06-2008 02:22 PM
Satelite TV JOC1212 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 05-05-2008 06:06 AM
Satelite transponders rbcarnes Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 11-04-2007 05:21 PM
Satelite Internet? Fakrwee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 07-04-2007 12:12 AM
Satelite Internet? Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 17 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.