Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2014, 09:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
Slide out wiring question

Our slide out won't open or close with the switch.
After opening and closing manually twice I'm ready to order some parts
So we will star by getting a new switch and if that doesn't work, we wil test the motor to a direct connection to the battery.
If that works we are thinking or "rewriting it".
So here is the question: do we need a relay or not?
If so how big? 20A, 40A?
This is for a 1990 5th Wheel Avion, the unit is so rare that I can't find anything online!
__________________

__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-01-2014, 09:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
Your current ( non-functioning ) wiring , should have a fuse or a circuit breaker in line . I would not exceed , that fuse , C/B ,amp rating with any replacement .
Several manufacturers of slide drives , ( Power Gear , Lippert and others)
Could you post a picture, of the mechanism, and maybe we can identify it and get you a trouble shooting guide.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 07:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
....Could you post a picture, of the mechanism, and maybe we can identify it and get you a trouble shooting guide....
thanks so much!
Will try my very best, but for that i pretty much need to remove the subfloor and I will really will like to be "ready" to fix this issue at once since we are full timers and having the living room floor open for a while it wont be a pleasing experience I'm sure
__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 10:09 AM   #4
Member
 
mbass777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 47
you should be able to access the rams and motors from underneath I have had the limit switches fail and the slide would not go out until I cut out the switch and twisted the wires together to complete the circuit which gave me time to source new switches locally what type of set up do you have hydraulic or screw jacks
__________________
mbass777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:07 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
I would try some troubleshooting as others stated before throwing money at parts. You can test the switch by disconnecting the wires and using a ohm meter to check continuity thru the switch (put a probe on each terminal and have someone close the switch; going from an open to a short means the switch is good). Then look for fuses or test the limit switches.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:36 AM   #6
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbass777 View Post
.....what type of set up do you have hydraulic or screw jacks
They are not hydraulic, that's for sure, and the electrical sliding was working before, and when we need it the most it went south...
I will try to look to see if we have any pics of the mechanism from when we were doing the subfloor
__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:38 AM   #7
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-Star View Post
I would try some troubleshooting as others stated before throwing money at parts. You can test the switch by disconnecting the wires and using a ohm meter to check continuity thru the switch (put a probe on each terminal and have someone close the switch; going from an open to a short means the switch is good). Then look for fuses or test the limit switches.
I know i have a tester with an ohm meter on it but never use it...so no clue about the reading..., but iwill give it a try.
I really don't want ot spend the extra money if is not necesaary, but on the other hand I wouldn't mind spending the extra $100 and re-wire the whole thing before doing the hardwood floor.
I really don't want any issues once the floors are installed
__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 11:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
I knew I had some pictures, but I really didn't expect to find them so fast!
WARNING: Do not freak out !
It doesn't look like this anymore.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	671.3 KB
ID:	70329   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	683.4 KB
ID:	70330  

Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	514.1 KB
ID:	70331   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	490.5 KB
ID:	70332  

__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:03 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quest View Post
I know i have a tester with an ohm meter on it but never use it...so no clue about the reading..., but i will give it a try.
Put the selector switch to ohms (identified by the omega symbol). The needle should not move off of the left position (indicates an open condition). Then touch the ends of the probes together; the needle should move to the far right position (indicate a short (aka closed) condition). If you take the wires off of the back of the switch and put a probe on each terminal, the meter needle should not move off the left side (open). When someone closes the switch, the needle should go to the for right (closed or short).
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 08:33 AM   #10
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
K-STAR
thanks for the extra time adn effort.
have a 4 prong switch and I'm guessing that it shouldn't matter what terminals to or in what order should we test them right?
thanks again
BTW
Now by looking at the pictures I'm wondering : Why 3 relays when only 2 motors?
__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 12:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,250
Not always,,, but usually the prongs opposite from each other are the ones to test,,, say the top two, then the bottom two.. Usually it's basically two switches controlled by one button,,, if that makes sense...
__________________
Monkey, pilot of a Great Dane hauler,
2015 Silverado 2500 Duramax/Alison 4x4 CrewCab 2016 Cougar 28SGS
1ST CAV
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 12:38 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: lancaster CA
Posts: 543
You may have a controller between the switch and motors. Is the switch marked in and out. Or is your switch a push button like a garage door opener.
__________________
2001 dodge 2500 auto, with billet Mojave Green torque converter with 2nd gear lockup mod, raptor 100 fuel transfer pump and gauges. RV275 injectors
94 Alpenlite 27sl with many mods. Master mechanic over 55 years
oldbeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:11 AM   #13
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
got to clean all the connectors and i can hear the relays.
The motor its actually trying to move the slide out now and it get to a point where is doing do "clicking" noises like saying : Please give me a break!!!!
But if i move manually is working fine so it shoudn't be bad gears? otherwise the manual mode wouldn't work correct?
__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:14 AM   #14
Member
 
Quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL 33544
Posts: 45
Also got new switches and of course ebay ....bought 4 prongs and got 5 prongs.
Can someone help me with some wiring schematics?
In the back has
1a
1 2
1b 2b
thanks
__________________

__________________
One Nation Under GOD

1990 Avion 38.5M 5th wheel w/slide out
Quest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slide out, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HWH Curbside level floor slide advice/adjustment at FMCA Redmond Cinequip Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 07-21-2014 04:53 PM
Fridge in slide M2D 5th Wheel Discussion 27 07-16-2014 10:27 AM
Checking your slide out motor attachment tom chelbana Newmar Owner's Forum 7 02-02-2014 06:46 AM
Trailer Brake Wiring Question 1982 SS Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 01-15-2014 06:41 PM
Magnadyne wiring question '05 Itasca Suncruiser osgoor Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 06-08-2013 11:48 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.