Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2016, 02:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Splitter?

I'm trying to get Dircetv set up in my ragen fifth wheel but they say I have to find splitter because there not allowed to take things apart. Does anyone have Ideas where I should Look I know what it looks like cant find?
__________________

__________________
overodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-16-2016, 02:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KT4Wextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 529
The first place to check in in the wall behind the outlet box for cable connections. Remove the outlet from the wall to look for it. The reason the splitter needs to be removed or changed is because it will not allow voltage to pass to operate your remote antenna. When you find the splitter just replace it with one that is 5mhz to 2.4ghz. You can find them at a big box store (Lowes/Home Depot). Look for an Ideal brand model #85-333, cost is $7 for a 2 or 3 way splitter. A 4 way costs a couple dollars more. Go to the homedepot.com web site and search Ideal 85-333 to get an idea of what one looks like.
__________________

__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS 28 days in 2014, 47 days in 2015, 71 days in 2016, 2017-33, 2018- 29 booked.
2011 F-150 Supercrew 5.0 6spd, Me, Xyl and the 2 Fur kids, BooBoo and Gracie (felines)
KT4Wextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 03:32 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Found one

Well I opened the one in the upstair bedroom found cable had been cut and poorly put back together and taped Now I wonder was one cut out of there? I did buy my unit used? I have one more to look on the outside cable connection.
__________________
overodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Man oh man - direct tv's right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. I had almost the same problem finally was able to get a independent TV installer to hook my RV up correctly Direct TV told me they did not do RVs. This was after they leased me the DirecTV receiver box for an RV!
Let me let you in on another secret, I could not get my receiver to work for three or four outings as we are only weekenders at this time and finally I called DirecTV and ask them why I had a problem everywhere I was going even though I had a clear view to the south east. Well guess what if you do not use the receiver for any period of time over 30 days you have to call DirecTV and let them know
that they need to re-activate your system this is something they do not tell you and you end up paying for months when you're not using it also you can suspend your monthly fee and save money doing it


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
raiderray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderray View Post
Man oh man - direct tv's right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. I had almost the same problem finally was able to get a independent TV installer to hook my RV up correctly Direct TV told me they did not do RVs. This was after they leased me the DirecTV receiver box for an RV!
They don't install in RV's not that they don't let you use their service. We just take two of our Direct SD receivers with us when we go. That is allowed under Direct TV's service agreement.
Our Magna came with two Direct HD receivers and we do own them, trying to decide whether to upgrade the home service and use them inside it. Cost is only $10 a month more but we've been watching SD since TV first came out and I'm not sure the cost is worth it.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 06:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wingnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wherever the Suites is
Posts: 2,982
Dish also goes dormant if you let it set with the power off/satellite put away longer than about 30 days, and you have to go thru the update process, so that's not exclusive to Direct.
And I believe that there cannot be any type of splitter between the sat and the receiver, at least on Dish setups. I had to pull a splitter off that was located just behind the outlet where the sat/cable connections are.
And if you don't have some sort of problem with reception every so often, you are really living right...
Check out the technology section on this forum--should be lots of Direct info there.

Joe
__________________
'15 38RSSA Mobile Suites
'05 36TK3 Mobile Suites--retired but not forgotten
'17 F450--trying one more Ford
'09 F450--died, replaced with '10--retired
wingnut60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 07:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,804
DirecTV has a smart phone app or sign on to your account for re-activating your receiver.

No customer service to wait for, just pick the receiver not working and click activate.

I do it every 6 months when I jump ship for the MH.
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Splitter On My 2006 National Dolphin dlduck National RV Owner's Forum 5 12-09-2015 07:46 PM
2009 35 QBA AV splitter location Steeler34 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 2 09-30-2015 08:45 AM
Splitter for cigarette outlet that can handle TV and DVD Hurley Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 04-22-2015 03:36 PM
Satellite in splitter or A / B switch? charles tuit Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 08-10-2014 07:14 AM
OTA Coax Splitter Location slabman Newmar Owner's Forum 9 04-29-2014 05:13 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.