Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-07-2016, 08:38 AM   #1

ST Tires changed to LT series tires

I have had some of this experience myself..............

Daughter and her husband purchased brand new 5th wheel 2 years ago. So far, they have had 2 tire failures. One non-event, one did over $1,500 damage.

Yesterday following them on a trip, they were going slow through a small town and I observed a wobble in the left rear. Once we resumed speed all looked good. When we slowed again, I saw the wobble again and suggested we stop and take a look. Sure enough the belts in the tire were failing, we could see the distortion in the tread. The tire had proper inflation, there was no road damage etc...

We are giving serious thought to replcing all 4 tires with Light Truck (LT) tires. There are tires that are ver comparable in all demensions in the LT series. Anyone else done this? Have experience you can share?

L.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!