Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-02-2016, 09:42 AM   #1

Tire Pressure

When I picked up my fifth wheel two years ago the tech that gave me my walk through told me to run my tires between 65 and 70 PSI, he said this will allow for expansion for when the tires heat up. I checked the sidewall of the tires and 80 PSI is stamped on it but being new to towing I took his advise.
Ive been traveling up and down the East coast for the past two years with no tire problems and then I read an article about camper tires and in the article it states to NEVER run your tires below what is on the sidewall. I called a local tire shop and he said the same thing as the article. So before we left Florida to travel back to New England I inflated my tires to 80PSI. After about 4 hour of travel I got a blow out. When I changed the tire in Georgia, again I asked what should the tire pressure be and the shop said what is stamped on the tire. The next day we are back on the road, all tires at 80 PSI and after about 3 hours another blow out.
So after my second blow out I lowered the tires to 70 PSI and drove the rest of the way without an issue.
The camper came with ST 235/80 R16 Load E. Ive been told by many to get rid of them because most new campers come with tires from China.
Camper fully loaded is just over 15,000 pounds.
Any recommendations on what brand I should go with?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!