Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > 5th Wheel Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 05:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Iceman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
It is a 3000 Watt Generator with one GFI 110Volt Plug and One 125V/25 Amp twist lock Plug. This is a 2700 Watt continuos and 3000 Watt Surge Generator. I will only be running my a/c on the generator and nothing else. I will only be using this once or twice a year when we visit family on the farm. I await your responses. Should I be looking at something different? Please don't say the Honda, Yamaha or Kipors as for what I am going to use it for I can't justify that kind of money. My A/C is a 13500 BTU Duo Therm.
__________________

__________________
1999 GMC Sierra SLE Z71 4 x 4 c/w 5.3L & 3.73 - Jet Chip

2003 Keystone Springdale 268BHLGL
Iceman31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-27-2005, 05:15 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Iceman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 12
It is a 3000 Watt Generator with one GFI 110Volt Plug and One 125V/25 Amp twist lock Plug. This is a 2700 Watt continuos and 3000 Watt Surge Generator. I will only be running my a/c on the generator and nothing else. I will only be using this once or twice a year when we visit family on the farm. I await your responses. Should I be looking at something different? Please don't say the Honda, Yamaha or Kipors as for what I am going to use it for I can't justify that kind of money. My A/C is a 13500 BTU Duo Therm.
__________________

__________________
1999 GMC Sierra SLE Z71 4 x 4 c/w 5.3L & 3.73 - Jet Chip

2003 Keystone Springdale 268BHLGL
Iceman31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 06:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
In one word, yes it will. You will have to make a patchcord to mate the generator to the camper cord but that is no big deal.
__________________
Gordon

K4SD
majora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 10:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Glendale,AZ
Posts: 48
That size generator would most likely run it although depending on just how cheap it is and what size your AC is, there is a chance it would not. As far as the plugs go, I always just used a 30 to 15 amp dogbone and plugged straight into the 15 amp outlet and it worked for me. Any chance you could try your AC on a similiar generator to verify it will work?
__________________
Tim

2005 Ford F350 Diesel
The Sequel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 09:29 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
CyberVet65's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Enoch, Utah
Posts: 716
I have a Honda unit and it runs my A/C just fine. It is a 3000ui unit.
I have heard that on some A/C units the start up amps needed to crank the compressor might exceed the rated 3Kw that the gen set can produce. If this happens it can burn out your compressor because it continues to try to crank.
I have heard of many folks that use a 3Kw gen set but make sure all electrical in the RV is off when running the A/C.
Chet
__________________
1999 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 37WDS
2003 Honda Goldwing Trike
CyberVet65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 05:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: utah
Posts: 145
It also depends on the altitude! The higher the less power the gen set put out! If your a/c takes too much power at start up, the gen set may not be enough to start.
__________________
'01 F350 PSD 4X4 CC LB SRW, firestone air bags, bilstien shocks, superchips 60hp, 4" cat back exhaust, front end leveling kit, aux trans cooler
'00 315 wanderer, Honda EU2000
gearman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 11:52 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 66
I go from 50 to 30 then 30 to 15 and plug into my Honda EU2000 and have charger in Prosine 3.0 set at max. of 64, this allows TV, Microwave etc. Without shorepower try to get by with 7.1 btu AC off inverter in BR. If I must run 13.5 AC it is only on low watch meter and not been a problem. Plan B would be to start on inverter then set to keep comp. on and turn off inverter and all other elect. while running AC. See no reason why a 3000 shouldn't work for you on low. Before turning up to high would check amp. draw on AC against the model of gen. you picked.

For once or twice a year, why carry the weight and take up the space with a gen., not to mention problems caused by old gas if you forget. Maybe renting would be better if you can't get the loan of one from a friend.
__________________
Ron & Margie

F250 7.3,32' New Horizons FW
Ron1247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 07:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,699
I second Ron1247's suggestion. Consider renting a larger(4.5KW or larger) genset in the nearest town to your farm. Then you won't be hamstrung by a lack of amperage to your RV. The Honda and Yamaha units are super quiet when running, another plus!
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 06:32 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Tom F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Glendale AZ
Posts: 8
20A x 120V = 2400W Required for 15K BTU AC. Generator must be de-rated by -3% for every 1K feet in elevation. ie your gen is rated for 2700W cont. @ sea level. 1K above means you only get 2619W 2K=2540W and so forth.
Also remember that even though you are not running anything else your converter will still be charging and using wattage. Hope this helps tom
__________________
2004 Dodge 5.9L 4X4 Grey
2006 Sierra Sport F37SP 09/01/05
Tom F. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 03:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 240
If the generator will run the AC, but has trouble starting it after the AC has sat for a while, installing an 'Easy Start' kit in the AC may help.

My generator wouldn't start the AC on hot days, but after it ran for a bit would restart it ok. Put in the easy start, and has always worked since.

Basically a large capaciter and a relay to store an extra boost for the compressor.
__________________
John (40' 2004 Country Coach Inspire DP)
John66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 01:32 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by John66:
installing an 'Easy Start' kit in the AC may help. Basically a large capaciter and a relay to store an extra boost for the compressor. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Very interested in this. I too have a cheap generator 3000 wats 4500 surge but at 9000ft it doesn't like the AC 13500 btu. Works fine until about 7500ft.
__________________
'03 Outback 26RS TT
TV '02 Dodge Ram 2500 with the Cummins Diesel.
2500Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 04:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Bern,NC
Posts: 2,032
WE have a Yahama 3000 ISE and it will run the air and the microwave at the same time. I too am looking at one of the cheap generators as I would like to use the Yahama on power outages at the house, and it is too heavy to load and unload. I am looking at a 3500 watt for $379 with shipping at http://www.duropower.com
Tom
__________________

__________________
diandtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator will not run Mr. Proto MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 01-31-2009 11:55 AM
Generator Won't Start Unless I Run the Engine 69RoadRunner Newmar Owner's Forum 12 07-10-2008 06:28 PM
How long to run Generator Latitude Boondocking 23 04-28-2008 09:57 PM
Generator Run Time clock Sumar Damon 5 10-03-2007 04:48 AM
How LOng to run Generator Latitude Newmar Owner's Forum 3 10-01-2007 11:18 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.