Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-07-2011, 10:28 AM   #1

Another weight/safety/legality question

Hi all,

I am so glad I found this forum. You have already given me lots of great advice as I am new to all of this, and the sheer amount of information available on the internet is mindblowing.

To reiterate, my wife and I are planning on purchasing a truck/5th wheel trailer to live in while we travel around with her job as a travelling nurse. After LOTS of research, we have decided that we want to take a closer look at the 2011 NU-WA 345 RESB trailer.

The GVWR is 15,500 on this trailer, with the UVW 12,380. Obviously this is before we add any options like the Bigfoot levelling system etc. We are looking at a 2011 F350 DRW 2X4 to pull this trailer. From what I have read, this seems like a good fit. However, as I am new to all of this, I want to ask the more experienced people on here their opinions of this combination.

I am not a dedicated Ford man, and I am equally open to the new Chevrolet or Dodge 3500 2X4 DRW trucks too, or even the F450 if that is what it takes to operate this trailer safely and legally.

JimC
jchatt30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!