Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-28-2013, 02:09 PM   #1

anti sway question

Ok, I got a simple question but have been different answers from a lot of people.
Basically I am new to towing and camping in anything other than a tent. My wife and I bought a 3500Lbs hybrid for us, two toddlers and a dog. We also bought a 2011 F150 FX4 Eco boost with max tow package which included upgraded bumper, coolers and the 3:73 gears.
I currently have a WD hitch with the friction control bar, that came standard with the trailer, for anti-sway. Now I do not want any sway and I know that I need to load heavy upfront, drive normal, keep angle at hitch lower, etc. and all of that but what I am wondering is, is it worth buying the Reese dual cam and using it for anti-sway or is it overkill in that I should be fine with the newer truck or is it that if it buys piece of mind then it is worth it.
I plan on camping most weekend with the family as with the children so young, it is a great time to expose them to camping and we can do it for many years. We also wanted a lighter trailer and "larger" tow vehicle so that we could go campground to campground, knowing the 10Mpg we are going to get. Actually the Eco boost is quite good on gas but I do slightly under speed limit to begin with.
So basically to sum this up, would you recommend keeping the friction or go with say the dual cam with 600Lbs bars for the better anti-sway.