Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 07:54 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
I am installing a Tekonsha P3 brake controller. It comes with a "40A B+ trailering J-Case fuse" -- the instructions say if my vehicle has the TP2 option (auxiliary battery) then the fuse is not needed. If I don't have the TP2 option then I do need the fuse.

My truck is a 2004 Duramax -- don't all diesels have 2 batteries?? If so, is the second battery an auxiliary battery or would it require a 3rd battery to be auxiliary.

Any help on how I determine if I have the TP2 option would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2007, 07:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
I am installing a Tekonsha P3 brake controller. It comes with a "40A B+ trailering J-Case fuse" -- the instructions say if my vehicle has the TP2 option (auxiliary battery) then the fuse is not needed. If I don't have the TP2 option then I do need the fuse.

My truck is a 2004 Duramax -- don't all diesels have 2 batteries?? If so, is the second battery an auxiliary battery or would it require a 3rd battery to be auxiliary.

Any help on how I determine if I have the TP2 option would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 12:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 611
You don't need a third battery. Those instructions are assuming a gas engine, one battery system.

I would install a SELF RESETTING 30 amp breaker. That way it will pop is a short happens, but will come back on again to give you brakes again.
__________________
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 03:40 AM   #4
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Riverdog:
Any help on how I determine if I have the TP2 option would be appreciated. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
All GM trucks should have the options listed on the inside of the glove compartment door. They will be listed by RPO (Regular Production Option) number.

As you suggest, however, the second battery may be standard and not an option so TP2 will not be listed. If in doubt, adding the fuse will probably not hurt. A call to Tekonsha may be necessary to get a final answer.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Prattville, AL USA
Posts: 196
Riverdog
Did the fuse come with the brake controller or with the truck? If it came with the truck and you are using the connector under the dash then the fuse goes in the fuse box under the hood.

Tom
__________________
01 Sunnybrook 33 BWS

00 Chevy 2500 6.0L 3.73
Sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 06:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
Thanks Sunny - I also called Chevrolet & they took my VIN and determined I do not have a TP2 option. The fuse came with the electric brake wiring harness that came with the truck. I'll install the fuse - I guess it can't hurt even if I don't need it.

Rick
__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:13 AM   #7
Member
 
superduty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 77
I just saw the post. I went through the same thing recently on my '07 classic Dmax. You will need to install the fuse in the underhood fuse box. there is a "dummy" fuse in the spot, just pull it out and put in the 40A one.
__________________
2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD crewcab, Duramax

superduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:22 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
Thanks Superduty -- I will install the fuse tonight. You've got an interesting situation...your signature is Ford reference yet you drive a Chevy.
__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 07:36 AM   #9
Member
 
superduty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 77
yep, quite the dilema. When I registered back in December 2000 I was loving my '99 stroker and Lance camper. Now I have a Chevy and a TT, but can't change the username! Oh well I have fond memories of trips taken with the stroker and seeing the name reminds of that!
__________________
2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD crewcab, Duramax

superduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 01:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Riverdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Posts: 202
I finally installed this last weekend. Works like a dream. & Superduty - you were correct, I found the dummy fuse & put the real one in it. Thanks for the heads up.
__________________

__________________
2004 Chevy Silverado 2500HD - Duramax/Allison

2009 Komfort Trialblazer 285S
Riverdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BRAKE CONTROLLER trophylite National RV Owner's Forum 7 09-08-2008 10:13 PM
Brake controller Wayne, Carol & Foxy 5th Wheel Discussion 2 06-06-2008 06:41 PM
voyager brake controller question superduty Travel Trailer Discussion 2 06-02-2007 06:11 AM
Which Brake Controller? bobinyelm Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 15 03-17-2007 02:32 PM
brake controller mamaloya Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 8 01-02-2007 03:11 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.