Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-24-2016, 05:18 AM   #1

Brakes

Hey all!
New to RVing and setting up a toy hauler for full timing. I looking to start buying in the next 30 days and there's soooo many questions. :-(

My question is about proportional trailer braking systems. I have never used trailer brakes before, from what i gather, I want my rig to have a top end brake controller--proportional.
But do I need special brakes on the toy hauler to work with that? I hear terms like Hydraulic and Electric-over-hydraulic...what is the standard?
Right now my primary target for the toy hauler is a 40 foot FleetWood Gearbox...or something like it. I never see a listing for what kind of brakes this TH has. Is there a standard?
I guess I want make sure that I get the best possible braking system on this thing, but I don't know what that looks like. :-)
Any advice most appreciated.
Thanks
Dave
TwoDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!