Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 12-13-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
Do I have the right tow vehicle??

I'm very new to this so I'm hoping some of you folks that have been doing this a while can give me some advice. I'm considering the purchase of a 41 foot 5th Wheel so my family and I can travel cross country - it's something we've been wanting to do for a long time and also have it for vacations from now on. Both of the campers we're looking at weigh around 13000 pounds empty and have a GVWR of around 15500 which is right around the upper limit for my 2010 Ford F350 Diesel (Single Rear Wheel). Technically I can pull either camper according to the vehicle specs but, having not done this before, am I taking a risk by placing that much weight on my truck as I drive from Virginia to California and up through Tennessee, Colorado, New Mexico, Montana, and Oregon? Would it be wiser to get a Dual Rear Wheel and if so, those of you who own DRWs, what is it like to drive them around town to work etc. when you're not hauling the camper? I'm not necessarily wild about driving the DRW around for daily use but I don't want to struggle pulling the camper either whenever we travel. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

apmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!