Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-07-2015, 11:35 AM   #1

Good grief

Ok....so I've been towing over loaded for 4 years. So I looked for a year to upgrade my F250 diesel (8800 GVWR & 20,000 GVWR) for an f350 crew cab dually. I finally found one! A 2001 one owner with 112,000 miles perfect body with some frame rust which will take a good weekend to sand and paint. GVWR of 11,500 lbs well over what I will be pulling. Yet when I read the specs from Ford the GCWR is 20,000 the same as the F250. That means I'm still going to be over loaded pulling my 13,300 lb 5th wheel!!!

What the heck.....

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-07-2015, 11:47 AM   #2

Excel Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
I had the same dilemma. I have a '99 F350 dually. I found that if you want to increase the GCWR, you need to start looking at the F450. It also needs to have the 4.88 gears.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
EMD_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote