Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2010, 04:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Blkymom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Question Help with prodigy controller

We purchased the prodigy to use with our Jeep...we have recently upgraded our TV to a '02 Dodge Ram 1500...we bought the correct wire harness to move it to our new TV...but when we connect it to the Ram there is no display lighting up on the controller (it was lit when connected to the Jeep). DH checked the fuse for the trailer brake, it's good but there is no continuity between the TV battery and the fuse.

Any suggestions on where we can go from here to figure out where the problem might be? Thanks in advance for any advice.
__________________

__________________
Tammy & Clint
2 boys & 1 dog
Blkymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-13-2010, 05:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 2,553
Does the Dodge actually have the trailering harness?
__________________

__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 05:30 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Blkymom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
The dodge has the factory trailer harness...and we bought the 3020-P harness to plug into the prodigy.
__________________
Tammy & Clint
2 boys & 1 dog
Blkymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 07:53 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
My 2002 Ram 3500 is a 2nd generation truck whereas your Ram 1500 is a first year 3rd generation truck, so this suggestion may or may not apply. On my truck, there is a power distribution panel containing fuses, circuit breakers and relays under the hood on the inner fender well on the driver's side of the truck. Under the cover of this power distribution panel is a label that identifies all the fuses, circuit breakers and relays and the circuits they serve. On my truck, the trailer brake circuit and the trailer +12VDC battery charge circuit were not enabled as the truck shipped from the factory. When we ordered the truck and took delivery, there was a plastic bag in the glove box that included a trailer brake harness and circuit protection for the trailer brake and trailer battery charge circuits that I had to plug into the power distribution panel. Check the power distribution panel to ensure that the trailer brake and battery charge circuit devices (see the label under the cover) are present and functioning.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 08:46 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Blkymom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks Rusty,

DH says the fuse is there (and working, he removed and checked it) but there is no power to the fuse...and there aren't any other circuits marked (on the panel cover) for trailer usage.

Will get him to check again....he is thinking that something got messed up when the previous owners had the remote starter put in.

Thanks again, Rusty. Any other thoughts are welcome...

Tammy
__________________
Tammy & Clint
2 boys & 1 dog
Blkymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 10:53 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Blkymom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks for the help...DH went out last night and took a look at it again. Turns out he just didn't have it plugged in tightly to the main harness. His bad! It is all good now!
__________________

__________________
Tammy & Clint
2 boys & 1 dog
Blkymom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Brake Controller Installation in Monaco MH Dr4Film Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 12-18-2009 10:00 AM
Prodigy intermittant overload karonc Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 7 10-31-2008 11:56 AM
Prodigy Controller Roger Watts 5th Wheel Discussion 3 01-15-2007 01:59 PM
brake controller mamaloya Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 8 01-02-2007 03:11 PM
Mounting a Prodigy brake controller NT-man Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 3 12-31-2005 02:27 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.