Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-18-2016, 08:49 AM   #1

Help with towing capacity?

I have a 2wd Avalanche, GVWR-6800
Rear Gross Axle 4000
Payload - 1399
Max trailer weight - 8200
GCWr- 13,000 I believe
The TT I am looking at is an Apex Ultra-lite
UVW-4770
Hitch-480
GVRW-7000
I'm not sure I have all the info I need to figure if I can tow this. I am a complete newbie. What do you think? It will just be 2 people on short trips
Thank for any advice. The Hitch on my truck says I can pll 1200 tongue weight and 12,000lbs with a weight distribution hitch, which I don't want to go that high for sure. Also would it be overkill to get a Hensley Propride WDH with this? I am nervous about towing, have towed boats etc but this is my first TT.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!