Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-03-2016, 11:30 AM   #57

Damon Owners Club
Thanks to all that contibuted...did get a bit off the question of what speed and MPG your getting.
The reason I asked this question is I'm new at towing something this big and heavy. But in my 4 trips on 4 lane highways, I felt very comfortable towing 60 MPH, 65 MPH, and even at 70 MPH. The cummins and DRW made it seem not stressful. Now, the conditions were good...ie traffic light, partly sunny and good roads. Now I do agree with stopping this big unit (23,000#)...it does not stop like a car...got to have alot more room. So, I just keep my distance beween me and the unit in front at a much greater distance.

On the fuel mileage side of the question...at 65 MPH with a tail wind got 12.5 MPG, at 70 MPH got 9.4 with head wind. I'll take the 12 mpg...but don't like the 9 mpg.

Now, the speed at which one tows his RV is a personnal one...just like the best flavor of ice cream...nobody is going to agree on one flavor!

thank you moderator!
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!