Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-04-2014, 04:49 PM   #1

Is my truck too small

Hi All
I am new to this form and i recent purchased a 2015 Jayco Jayswift travel trailer what i need to know is my truck to small to tow this around here is what my trailer is and all the weights and then my truck any an all comments are welcom

Trailer
Jayco Jayswift 29QBS
34,9 feet
Unloaded Weight- 6,500 LBS
Dry Hitch - 685 LBS
GVWR 9,500 LBS

Truck

2006 GMC 1500HD Crew Cab Long Box it came with the tow package and all
V8-6
4.10 Ratio
Max Trailer Weight- 9900 LBS
GCWR-16,000

Hitch

Weight Carrying- ( Max Trailer Weight ) 5000lbs
( Max Tongue Weight) 600lbs

Weight Distributing ( Max Trailer Weight) 12,000 LBS
( Max Tongue Weight) 1500 lbs

I am sure my truck can tow this trailer easy i tow sleds in the winter for mountain riding any and all help is good also i do have the EQ 1200 Sway control ( equalizer ) please any help to get me started is good
NorthernCamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!