Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-22-2014, 11:41 AM   #1

Keep 2000 Blazer or buy Toyota Tacoma?

Hello, I am new to trailering and have a decision to make. Keep my 2000 Chevy Blazer, 148K, 4.3 V-6 or buy a used Toyota Tacoma, V-6 to tow my new Riverside Retro 155 trailer? It is 15' and 2100 lbs dry; probably 3000 or so loaded. Towing capacity for Blazer ~4500 lbs; Tacoma 6500 lbs. If I keep my Blazer I am thinking of ways to boost power and performance: oil cooler, cold air intake, heat shield, exhaust, electric fan, etc. How much better will the Tacoma actually perform compared to Blazer? Strain on engine, fuel mileage, etc? Thanks, experts out there!!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2014, 03:52 PM   #2

Cool looking trailer, I hope you got one with the crazy 50's colors.