Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-28-2014, 11:50 AM   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Much ado about tow ratings

Ford and Ram quarrel over HD pickup towing title.

Sounds like two Junior High kids arguing over a baseball game, except there is billions of dollars at stake. I have an MBA from a good school, but I can't believe that the buying public is so stupid that they are concerned over the claimed tow ratings of a pickup. Neither the Ford nor the Dodge can tow a trailer as heavy as the tow rating without being overloaded. How dumb do they think we are? Good thing I'm not in advertising, huh?

You may have to register for a "free limited subscription" to read that article. I'm not a subscriber and I can read it because I registered years ago. Note that under "choose your subscription" you can ask for a free limited subscription that allows you to read up to two articles per day.

Grumpy ole man with over 50 years towing experience. Now my heaviest trailer is a 7,000-pound enclosed cargo trailer, RV is a 5,600 pound Skyline Nomad Joey 196S, and my tow vehicle is a 2012 F-150 3.5L EcoBoost SuperCrew.
SmokeyWren is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!