Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-02-2015, 07:28 PM   #1

Need some power programmer help

Hi everyone-
I am new to the TT world but not new to towing (had boats most of my life); that being said, our new 5er required a bigger truck so I am now operating my first ever diesel. We opted to go 1ton dually so I bought a 2003 Chevy Silverado 3500 dually with the 6.6L Duramax and 5 speed allison. Our coach is a 2015 Prime Time Crusader 370 BHQ which measures 40'5" and weighs in at about 14k loaded. Truck is stock other than removing the muffler and injectors were just replaced. We just came back from our first trip out with the 5er and everything went great but going up a hill was a struggle. Truck did alright but it was tougher than I like. Im thinking of adding a power programmer to squeeze some more torque out of this thing but have no clue what to get. Im not trying to make a hotrod, just want the truck to power up the hills better pulling this load. I will open up the exhaust to 4" as well, but I definitely need direction on what to do to the motor. Oh, also has a volant cold air intake, so scratch that off the list

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!