Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-16-2013, 05:32 PM   #1

New to 5er's, height questions

This has probably been covered here before, but here goes. I posted the following on another forum, it may be better asked here.
I'm looking at new Toy Haulers. My '12 3500 4x4 sits 58" high at the rear of the bed. I measured the height of a Cyclone today at an RV show - it was 60 inches. It looked to be sitting level. I know I want to be as level as possible when towing to distribute the load evenly between axles. My truck is sitting at the stock height and I have no plans to lift it any. I am new to 5th wheels - what is an acceptable clearance between the trailer and the sides of the bed? How do I achieve this? Install a lift kit on the trailer? Are some trailers made taller than others? I realize the truck will squat slightly when hooked up, I have air bags and plan to keep the truck level. What are your experiences with this stuff? Do I just need to shop for a trailer that is tall enough? It seems to me that this should not be a problem with a stock height truck. Like I said, I'm new to 5th wheels, all the trailer salesmen know is that their trailer is bright and shiny! They have no answers at all. I guess they might be stupid questions on my part, but I need to get my ducks in a row before I drop some big bucks on a new Hauler. Any input would be greatly appreciated. The axles on the Cyclone were already on the bottom of the springs, so flipping them would not be an option. Is there some other built in adjustment on these things? Thanks, Tim

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!