Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-27-2015, 01:33 AM   #1

New to towing - some clarification please? !

First off, I am a noob to TT's, so go easy on me
I have posted this question elsewhere, as I am trying to get as many ideas and opinions as possible. I have targeted our first TT purchase, and it will be an Arctic Fox 19B, or a Nash 19B. Both are preowned units. The AF is year 2000, and the Nash is a 2007.

I wonder if I'm good to tow one of the above TT's with my 2008 Silverado 1500.
It seems like there are so many half ton pickups towing big TT's, yet the on-line towing calculator I used seemed to suggest that these two trailers would be too much. Either there are many people towing while overweight out there, or I am missing something. (I'm betting it's me!) I must be inputting something wrong, or interpreting the results incorrectly... Hopefully someone can set me at ease here.

Specs:
The Nash has a dry weight of 3750lbs, GVW of 7000.
Hitch weight is about 350lbs.
The AF is slightly heavier with a dry weight of 4380lbs, but still a GVW of 7000. Hitch weight about 400.

My Silverado is an extended cab standard box. GVW of 7000lbs, GAWR front and rear are both 3950. From my manual, the max combined GVW is 13000, and the max trailer weight is 7500, and my truck has the 5.3l V8, 3:73 gearing.

I will have my DW and 2 dogs in the truck. What say you?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!